h1

Introducing Crook and Heddie

January 16, 2012

Saturday morning, two new greyhounds raced into our hearts. It was so hard to go to sleep Friday night–T1, T2, and I were so giddy waiting it was like children on Christmas Eve. Thankfully DH got some sleep and was able to make the long drive for us.

We felt we had everything: new leashes and collars (they would come with martingale collars as well); new bowls; new beds; blankets; and we had gotten a bed liner to prevent toe dislocations like what happened to Cassie and DH had made a custom divider to go behind the seats to prevent dogs flying forward.

Hedwig "Heddie"

We had chosen this adoption group because we had seen a beautiful almost all white female on PetFinders.com and had inquired about her in mid-November. Our application process took longer than hoped… I guess I was hoping we could skip jumping through hoops because we had previous adopted a grey, albeit not through this group. No go. References had to be called and we had to be approved. Others were on a waiting list ahead of us and the dog in question had several interested in her.

Crookshanks "Crook"--we've never had a grey that sat!

Before Saturday, even though it was our first Christmas without a dog and I missed Cassie so much, I was secretly relieved the adoption hadn’t taken place without DH. I would not have been prepared. What if it had turned out like when I got Chewie from the pound two weeks before DH had come home?

Even though we had gotten lost twice we still got to our destination early. They were barely ready for us. I now realize they had given potential adopters specific times to arrive so that it wouldn’t be a free-for-all. But they were ready for us and they had specifically brought a set of sisters up from the track for us, with colors as close as possible to our wish list, but more important with the temperaments we were looking for.

All we could focus on were these two gorgeous girls. People were greeting us–they knew us by name and “they’re the ones for the sisters!” but I cannot tell you who we met. Outside, two volunteers brought up the sisters and the bonding began.

Kiowa Packers immediately went for T2. Had she heard T2’s breathless “Oh, I want Packers! I love her colors!”? T2 and DH sat on the steps and Packers leaned over T2 claiming her. T1 sat next and Kiowa Saints practically climbed in her lap.

We walked around the yard. We shared our story. The woman volunteer asked the girls what they would call or rename the greys. “Heddie and Crook!” I clarified, “We’re Harry Potter fans. Hedwig and Crookshanks. I know. Naming greys after an owl and cat is strange.”

The male volunteer smiled, “Crook? Crookshanks?” I nodded. He flipped his name badge around: Mr. Cruikshank. Could there be any more of a coincidence? Was this totally meant to be?

The adoption group had also found a set of brothers that retired at the same time but DH and I just aren’t male dog owners. I know it is said that a male and female have less aggression issues but we really wanted two girls. We declined seeing the males and asked to adopted Packers and Saints. We are happy to say that those two brothers along with about 6 other dogs, plus Packers and Saints, went home to their forever homes on Saturday.

So far everything has been going well. Again, I’m so glad DH was home for this. At the last minute DH decided we would crate them so he had to go purchase some crates. At three years old, these girls are still “Puppy Heads” as one volunteer called them. They have never been in a home. Saints (now Crook) raced as late as December 31st! Everything was new and exciting and demanded to be explored. We did not have this problem with Cassie as she had been in a home for 6 months prior to being returned for “Not Child Friendly” (Um, were we talking about the same dog?). That meant much of her acclimation had already taken place.

Thankfully, Heddie and Crook are responding to the quickly uttered “AH AH, leave it! Good girl!” They do not resist being put in the crate for bed or when we leave. We have learned that Heddie has to be fed inside her crate or she will either eat all of Crook’s food or harass her if she’s eating in her crate. Thank goodness for the support network giving us that wonderful piece of advice!

Crook is having a hard time on our hardwood floors. We have purchased 4 bath mats and 2 long hall runners to help her. We had thought we’d have them roaming the house but our hardwood stairs have us concerned. Cassie never roamed and when the girls were much younger, this was a blessing. Can I openly admit that I am secretly relieved about the possibility Heddie and Crook may be basement dwellers too? And before anyone says, “How awful!” please keep in mind that our family basically lives in the basement–large family room for TV and scrapbooking with all four of our computers. We only sleep and eat up stairs, and I occasionally retreat to my sunroom for some RnR.

I know this is the honeymoon period. It hasn’t been without its first casualty–T2’s fedora has been redecorated by Heddie, and Crook has tried chewing the chair and a bookcase. The nights have gone well; the first walks; the first alone time; the first outing to the pet store. I still miss my Cassie but I can’t help but think that she would have liked these two sweeties (unlike our foster Andie). I’ll admit the hormones have made me a bit weepy, missing Cassie but there is an awful lot of puppy joy in this house now!

Can I also admit that I’m having a little panic attack about what will happen when DH goes back to sea? Can I do this? Are the girls old enough to help me? Guess I will take the next few weeks working through that and I know it will be okay.

6 comments

  1. This is beautiful!! So glad to hear you’re all so happy. You know I’m a BIG dog lover and I love to see pups going to forever homes. I have always adopted from shelters so this is wonderful what you’re doing. My uncle has greys too 🙂 Such sweeties. Hoping to someday see them in person! Hope you and the fam have fun!


  2. Aww, this makes me happy! I’m sure the dogs will have a wonderful home with you! And hahaha, great that you named them after Hedwig and Crookshank from Harry Potter! 😀

    I recently read this: http://www.marcandangel.com/2011/12/11/30-things-to-stop-doing-to-yourself/ and liked it a lot. #12 reminded me of your current situation with the dogs:

    “Stop thinking you’re not ready. – Nobody ever feels 100% ready when an opportunity arises. Because most great opportunities in life force us to grow beyond our comfort zones, which means we won’t feel totally comfortable at first.”

    I’m sure you can do this and won’t regret it. 🙂


  3. They are gorgeous and I think they’ll adjust just fine!! In a few months, you’ll feel like they’ve been with you always. What lucky dogs they are!


  4. Yay!! The Greyhounds are here! Adoption day is so fun and they are going to love their new home!! So glad they’re staying together and they’ll get used to that hardwood in no time. What an adventure!


  5. […] we adopted Crookshanks and Hedwig in January it is never really quiet in our house. I like it that […]


  6. […] 5 I am thankful for Crookshanks and Hedwig. It was Her Majesty’s Hounds that opened up the possibility of greyhounds in our lives.  […]



What Are You Musing About?