h1

Writing Workshop: Sounds

September 13, 2012

My last official Mama Kat’s Writing Workshop was posted on March 22nd. Then my world sort of imploded a few short weeks later. But things are getting better. So much better that I want to try this again.

2.) Listen to the sounds in your house for 5 or 10 minutes. Write about what you hear. (inspired by The Aums)

Country radio plays softly upstairs. The dogs are comatose beside me. The RidEx ultrasonic bug replenant softly crackles in the outlet nearby. The large Honeywell airfilter hums but the red lights let me it is time to change the filters. Yeah, I’ll get around to that soon…

Occasionally I hear the collars on the dogs jingle (hence, why we call them “Jingles” as in “Remember to put their Jingles on when you let them out of their crates. We wouldn’t want them to be naked, do we?” Then there will be the occasional licking of their lips as they stretch and reposition themselves. A loud exhale. A wimper during a dream.

The Chief is not home. Otherwise I would be tucked away in my office while he works at this machine. But his noises are comforting … although I suspect the talk radio in place of the country music will not be so comforting. Have I mentioned before that I loathe election years? If he were home I would have my media player on my own computer cranking out my Halloween music collection. (I’m already playing it on my MP3 player when I run during E.o.t.T.) My favorites? Kidz Bop HalloweenMannheim Steamroller Halloween, and Midnight Syndicate. Creepy music to set the mood.

Which is reminding me that I am behind on setting up the Halloween decorations. Which is then reminding me that the basement is going to get painted soon but the upstairs is a mess. Which is reminding me that the Chief is due home in just two short weeks.

Which makes me want to bury my head in a mind-numbing FB game.

Then the dogs move again.

Last year, on August 26th, we said good-bye to our first greyhound, Cassiopeia. For such a quiet dog, the house became oppressively quiet when the children were in school. Even the chief’s noises or my own click-click of typing did little to fill the silence. When the Chief went back to sea the first time, I found myself turning on radios just to fill the void.

When we adopted Crookshanks and Hedwig in January it is never really quiet in our house. I like it that way.

And yet the first thing I want to do when the girls get home is retreat into a quiet place. Their chatter and noise can almost undo me sometimes. I actually need about 15 minutes to listen to their noise from a distance before I can engage them. It is an introvert thing.

The Prompts:

1.) Share a day in your life represented only in pictures and the time the pictures were taken. (inspired by Take It Like A Mommy)

2.) Listen to the sounds in your house for 5 or 10 minutes. Write about what you hear. (inspired by The Aums)

3.) Back to school memories…share your best or worst memory of heading back to school as a child. (inspired by Four Plus An Angel)

4.) Describe a moment where you or your child lost a part of childhood (realizing Santa isn’t real, etc.) (inspired by Sunshine Wonderland)

5.) Share something you miss from before you were a mom. (inspired by Life’s Unexpected Blessings)

For more information about Mama Kat’s wrold-famous Writing Workshop, be sure to click on that trophy badge over there —->.

6 comments

  1. I’ll give the prompts a try and see what grows!


    • I try to pick ones that allow me to answer something about the MM life … like this one. What is the silence like when the Chief is at sea? Give it a shot. It is fun!


  2. I didn’t know manheim had a halloween album—I’ll have to look into that!


    • They only have the one–go for the deluxe one if you can. It has In the Hall of the Mountain King, Night on Bald Mountain, The Flying Dutchman… and creepy effects. I’ve had it for year and LOVE IT. My girls request it!


  3. You chose a perfect topic and did it so well I feel like I am there with you.


    • Aww! Thanks! Getting ready to crank the Halloween music and gets some decorating done!



What Are You Musing About?

