h1

Month of Thankfulness

November 3, 2015

Somehow November snuck up on me. I saw a friend’s FB post about how she was changing things up this year from our usual tradition of posting daily who or what she was thankful for. Instead, as she posted, she was thankful for each of us but this year she would randomly pick someone from her friend list and spend the day in prayer for them–anonymously. I thought that was a refreshing idea.

I always have mixed feelings about the tradition to begin with. Last year I got through the month without losing steam or feeling guilty for being so thankful…not just of material things (out of 30 days those were just a fraction, things like my wonderful Chief or the house to keep us warm and dry) but of the everyday things not to be taken for granted (a beautiful sunset or even the music sung at church).

While I am still and always will be thankful for all the Lord’s blessings, I am choosing not to share them this year. Instead I looked up how many times the phrase “give thanks” is used in the Bible. 57 times. A few in Chronicles and Nehemiah are very specific to the situation or individuals, but the rest are to encourage us to remember to praise the one from whom all blessings flow.

Maybe by not focusing on me, this month will go better. Hopefully I will encourage others…I often felt my thankfulness reminded others of what they didn’t have even if bragging wasn’t the intention. After all, no one owns a sunset and everyone is capable of being thankful for it.

Will the daily dose of Jesus be an affront to my friends of different faiths or non faith? I had a friend I was rather surprised by post one of those “FB challenge to declare Jesus and if you don’t repost this Jesus will deny you too” memes. I never would have expected this friend to succumb to that because it is quite evident how strong her faith is…she declares him all the time in her words and actions. I guess I am hoping people see my “declaration” without such a blatant illogical meme. If some are offended (even you precious readers of this blog) then so be it. I have too much going on right now not to be spending this month really focusing on giving thanks where thanks is due.

At the end of the month I will post a list of the verses out of 57 that I use.

3 comments

  1. Enjoyed your post! I like the different thankful challenges people undertake this time of year. I’ve started a #GiveThanksChallenge where I have made a list of 20 “bad” things that happen and I will be thankful for each “bad” thing and ponder how something good came from it and how God used it for His glory. Join me! https://amazingthingscanhappen.wordpress.com/give-thanks-challenge/


    • Leah, I’m about to write a post about why God put this new way of giving thanks on my heart. Stay tuned! Thanks for visiting.


      • Looking forward to it!



What Are You Musing About?

