h1

Life is Short

November 28, 2014

The following was posted on the Merchant Marine Wives page on FaceBook:

Hello ladies. I’m posting this with the Admin’s permission. Not MM related but as an MMW I am appreciative of the dads who are active in their children’s lives and who make an effort to help me out especially when my MM is at sea. In Girl Scouts we call these heroes Green Knights. On Nov. 13th my Girl Scout troop lost one of its Green Knights, a man with such a genuine heart and good spirit. They’d been with our troop for over 5 years and my heart breaks for the daughters and wife. When people ask me how I “do all that I do running a troop, etc., while my MM is away” I tell them I do it with people like Juan helping me. He will be truly missed. The family will be in a tight financial position soon–you can read the details on the memorial funds. There have been two set up with the knowledge of the family and verified as legitimate. The GoFundMe has the most momentum but they charge a 10% fee; the other does not. We’re just trying to get the word out to help this family. Thank you for your consideration. Please, as uncomfortable as it is, talk with your MM and have the discussion about insurance and plans. And don’t forget to tell them how much you love them and appreciate all that they sacrifice for those of us at home.

YouCaring Memorial Account

GoFundMe Memorial Account

Needless to say, I can relate. And it is not easy having “those” talks but it is so necessary. I do find having the discussion now in our 40s with the girls older and closer to being on their own is a different kind of conversation than one we’d have had a decade ago. Of course I didn’t think we’d need to make sure my medical needs were covered but there you go. We are not guaranteed our health nor tomorrow.

I understand that Thanksgiving Day is now “Brown Friday” followed by Black Friday, Small Business Saturday, Cyber Monday, and GIVING TUESDAY–please consider helping out this family.

 

What Are You Musing About?

