h1

Writing Workshop: We Didn’t Start the Fire

November 13, 2014

But we certainly went out in a Blaze of Glory!

6. What was your favorite song when you were 16 years old…is it still a favorite?
But what a year 1990 was! Thanks to a quick search, Music Outfitters has all the Top 100 listings.

It is hard to say what was my favorite … I was still into the New Kids on the Block but who can resist the lip-synching wonder of Milli Vanilli? I can recall about 85% of these songs and the others were just one hit wonders.

Wait! Glenn Medeiros featuring Bobby Brown had another Top 40 hit with She Ain’t Worth It other than 1986’s Nothing’s Gonna Change My Love For You! No way! Obviously part of the 15% I don’t remember.

Glenn Medeiros himself, MC for the evening luau at the Hale Koa

Glenn Medeiros himself, MC for the evening luau at the Hale Koa

By the way we actually saw him live at the Hale Koa luau this summer… yeah, yeah, I know I need to write about traveling with 13 family members. He was a decent host and yes, he did sing his signature song briefly to serenade the audience members who had been married 50 or more years. And my in-laws got up and danced.

Ok, the children made the Chief and I get up and dance too and they took this blurry picture. ;)

Ok, the children made the Chief and me get up and dance too and they took this blurry picture. 😉

But who can forget the Humpty Dance or Ice Ice Baby?

Don’t you know that Opposites Attract?

Recently, jamming out to “oldies” tunes in the car with my girls I had to snicker and resist changing the song. I couldn’t tell you what song it was but as the youngest is working out the lyrics and singing right along with me she paused and asked, “What is this song about?”

“Sex, honey. Most songs are about sex.”

Thank goodness the song wasn’t “Do Me” by Bell Biv Devoe, that much I am sure.

But 1990 was the year that brought us Janet Jackson’s Rhythm Nation, Aerosmith’s Janie’s Got a Gun, and B-52’s Love Shack.

No, I can’t remember my favorite but I can sing them all!

If you want to know more about Mama Kat’s Writing Workshop, click on that trophy over there. Here are this week’s prompts:
1. Something you brought for show and tell.
2. November 3rd is National Housewife’s Day…how did you celebrate?
3. The meaning of your name…does it suit you?
4. Tell us about something new you learned last month.
5. Share a list of some of your most recent favorite things.
6. What was your favorite song when you were 16 years old…is it still a favorite?

2 comments

  1. Yes, indeed. Sex is a surefire way to get our attention!


  2. “Sex, honey. Most songs are about sex.”

    Boy ain’t that the truth!



What Are You Musing About?

