h1

Writing Workshop: Travel

September 18, 2014

So this week’s prompt #4 is a perfect way for me to share pictures of our summer vacation. I could blog about the pitfalls of traveling with 13 family members, especially when no one likes to take control and one member took advantage of that… but it really was a fabulous trip with a lifetime of memories made.

First of all, if your spouse is a Merchant Mariner, I suggest finding out where all their classmates sail and if any happen to be on cruise ships.

That was just a secondary and happy occurrence but the Chief knew the Chief and it was only poor scheduling that his sea partner was not Captain at the time… I can only imagine the goodies we would have gotten if he had been on board. No, we took the cruise for the Chief’s parents’ 50th wedding anniversary. They wanted to show the grandchildren where their parents had grown up. Otherwise, no, the Chief would not spend his own money to go sail on a boat for his vacation. And his parents graciously paid for the cruise and our island accommodations.

Needless to say, we were spoiled by the Chief’s well-placed connections. The Chief said to me at the end of the voyage, “I hope you don’t expect every cruise to be like this.” To which I replied, “Are you kidding? I want to know where all your classmates sail.”

Here are just a few pics and captions. Enjoy and don’t be too jealous.

The best turkey burger and fries. Yum!

The best turkey burger and fries. Yum!

Another dining option... this time we took the girls. At first we couldn't find the specific restaurant because you had to go through the wine bar to get to it... hello, we don't drink. But I'm glad we found it for lunch on our last day.

Another dining option… this time we took the girls. At first we couldn’t find the specific restaurant because you had to go through the wine bar to get to it… hello, we don’t drink. But I’m glad we found it for lunch on our last day.

It wasn't our anniversary but our steward must have thought something was up with all the gifts we got everyday. These love birds were cute.

It wasn’t our anniversary but our steward must have thought something was up with all the gifts we got everyday. These love birds were cute.

yup, the creepiest.

Yup, the creepiest.

More yummy chocolates.

More yummy chocolates.

The Chief had to get this bottle of wine because it was described as "tasting like cherry coke." His parents enjoyed a glass each too.

The Chief had to get this bottle of wine because it was described as “tasting like cherry coke.” His parents enjoyed a glass each too.

We passed this plate around to his parents and his sister & husband.

We passed this plate around to his parents and his sister & husband.

The Chief has this submarine cruise on his must-do list. I was not feeling well but I enjoyed the smooth ride and the cool temps. Now that I think about it, I'm lucky I didn't make a whole lot of other people sick.

The Chief had this submarine cruise on his must-do list. I was not feeling well but I enjoyed the smooth ride and the cool temps. Now that I think about it, I’m lucky I didn’t make a whole lot of other people sick.

We decided to take the Chief's parents to dinner with us as a way to thank them for the cruise. The food was delicious.

We decided to take the Chief’s parents to dinner with us as a way to thank them for the cruise. The food was delicious.

The one surprise plate we did not share with the others. T2 ate a strawberry almost as big as her palm before I came back to the room. YUM!

The one surprise plate we did not share with the others. T2 ate a strawberry almost as big as her palm before I came back to the room. YUM!

Got to love the creepy red eyes on our towel animals. But Louis was awesome!

Got to love the creepy red eyes on our towel animals. But Louis was awesome!

Exactly.

Exactly.

The Chief made contact to let the Chief know we were sailing with him and he asked the Chief what his "poison" was... not a drinker, the Chief asked for diet soda. We were sent two cases of soda and a magnum of champagne.

The Chief made contact to let the Chief know we were sailing with him and he asked the Chief what his “poison” was… not a drinker, the Chief asked for diet soda. We were sent two cases of soda and a magnum of champagne.

The first of many surprises left in our cabin. We also got an invitation to attend a private reception with the Captain and the top officers.

The first of many surprises left in our cabin. We also got an invitation to attend a private reception with the Captain and the top officers.

One of the sights my FIL wanted to see was the Arizona Memorial. Very somber and moving. Copyright The Chief 2014

One of the sights my FIL wanted to see was the Arizona Memorial. Very somber and moving. Copyright The Chief 2014

KuKui nut leis. The hotel employee responsible for helping guests with taxis and shuttles talked with me and the girls about the leis I had made T1 and how I didn't have kukui nuts to add... he said "Don't leave if your shuttle gets here" and went into the building to bring back 4 leis for our family. Now that is customer service.

Kukui nut leis. The hotel employee responsible for helping guests with taxis and shuttles talked with me and the girls about the leis I had made T1 and how I didn’t have kukui nuts to add… he said “Don’t leave if your shuttle gets here” and went into the building to bring back 4 leis for our family. Now that is customer service.

Rainbows in Hawai'i--Who would have thought? Copyright SnipeWife 2014

Rainbows in Hawai’i–Who would have thought? Copyright SnipeWife 2014

So sorry all the photos are out of order. We also got a tour of the engine room and a map signed by the Chief and the Captain. The Chief also got crew coveralls from the Chief. Too funny.

Well, I hope I don’t get anyone in trouble for posting about all of this.

If you want to know more about Mama Kat’s Writing Workshops, click on the trophy in my side bar. Here are this week’s prompts:

1. Show us where you go for quiet.
2. Throwback time! Share an old class photo of yourself.
3. List the top 6 books on your list to read next.
4. Write a blog post inspired by the word: travel.
5. Something funny your child said.

2 comments

  1. I don’t know, I feel like “the pitfalls of traveling with 13 family members” is a great working title for your next blog post. 😉

    Beautiful photos…I see lots of food and wine. My kind of vacation!


    • only if I plan to never see them again! Thanks for the visit!



What Are You Musing About?

