h1

Delay … Am I Bad to Want One?

September 14, 2014

After 18+ years I am used to this, really I am. The Chief is supposed to make the change out on the 23rd. However, they will be in transit to a warm, out of country port. He’s actually supposed to be in a nearby port on his birthday (the 19th, and he’ll be turning 45), just before this out of country port. Oh what I wouldn’t give to be able to join him on his birthday and sail with him for 5 days … but that just won’t work with my schedule and I guess the company doesn’t want a change out occurring out of country.

This would be the first time the Chief will be at a nearby port in about 16 years. Nearby meaning several hours away but that’s better than on opposite coasts. I would really like to drive up there and pick him up. As I said, my schedule is nuts and arranging a sitter for the daughters and the greyhounds… not even sure if it will be a drive and turn around or if I’d get to stay the night on board. And then the Chief mentions something about not having too many more opportunities to bring his dad to see his ship–both because his dad is 70+ and because the Chief is getting serious about retiring in a few years. So I also think it would be a great bonding thing for my dad to accompany us and see where his son-in-law works. Yes, after 18+ years I think my dad and husband need a little bonding experience.

Again, is it just a drive by “Hop on in!” and drive right on back home; would we get a chance to get into the port (not company owned anchorage) and actually see the ship; or would we get to spend the night on board–I know I have a bunk but what about the dads?

I really can’t get a sitter to take the girls to their soccer games and T1’s first high school fall social on Friday or Saturday … but if he is delayed by a day or two I could get a sitter for Sunday into Monday.

I’ve never had a chance to pick him up in port. It has been so long since I’ve sailed with him or even visited his ship(s) … like 15-16 years ago. And I do honestly want to bring the fathers.

So the babysitter and I are crossing fingers and hoping the delay happens. I have checked the oh-so-unsecure website and I know they have left port with an ETA of the 20th but as their satellite is on the fritz, it looks like they are “out of range” (when really they aren’t) for the time being. The Chief promises to update me as soon as he thinks they’ll have satellite communication.

P.S. I have given ample notice to all potential babysitters that if this run occurs during the winter, I am so sailing with the Chief out of country. The girls are less busy and I will make it happen.

2 comments

  1. I hear ya! If I had the opportunity, I sure would!


  2. […] So his ship is now on the same coast and doing what is called “tramping”. In other words, they are picking up cargo runs for anyone and everyone rather than having a dedicated intra-company cargo run. this means he could be anywhere at any time. As luck would have it, he was coming into a nearby port (by nearby I mean within 4 hours of home) right around crew switch out. But this kind of tramping could mean delays and detours with no real way of knowing where and when he would arrive. With the children and their schedules it was looking like if they arrived early I would once again miss the opportunity and he would have to get himself to the airport to pick up a rental car and drive himself home. So I was crossing my fingers for the delay. […]



What Are You Musing About?

