h1

She’s Getting Leid!

June 4, 2014

So, our Hawaiian ohana (family) posted pictures of recent high school and junior high graduations. When the junior high cousin’s pictures popped up on my Instagram feed I took notice (we weren’t directly related to the HS grad). T1 is about to “graduate” from middle school too … but they don’t have a ceremony (the closest thing is the invitation-only, all grade level, awards ceremony this Thursday). But I’d like to do something special. Besides, it is a nod to the Chief’s childhood on Hawaii and our ohana still there.

So I made a comment and congratulations for our cousins on FB and I got a personal message with YouTube links to how-to videos! I could not believe how simple they are. Now of course I have only tried the basic ones. I have not added beads and rosettes yet. I haven’t tried ribbon leis yet either.

Lei Making Supplies!

Lei Making Supplies!

See here are the supplies and here are the almost finished products–I must have the Chief make larger holes in the beads and I may go get more charms. I have enough to make one more lei so I will ask T1 what style for fun fur lei she likes best (don’t have anymore boa yarn).

Three Leis; Upper Right: close up of the charm that reads "Blessed"; Lower Left: single straw with alternating fun fur; Lower Right: two colors of fun fur, two straws (or flat lei).

Three Leis; Upper Right: close up of the charm that reads “Blessed”; Lower Left: single straw with alternating fun fur; Lower Right: two colors of fun fur, two straws (or flat lei).

**She was talking to her 8th grade semi-formal “friend-date” and telling him I was making her leis for graduation (I believe she actually said, “Help! My mom is making me leis for graduation!”). So I told her to ask him if he wanted me to make him one. That may be what happens with the last lei. But then I have not tried the three straw lei yet… Maybe I have to go get more supplies!

From our cousin:

This one is for a single straw lei: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jGp6oo69xuE&sns=em

This is for a two straw lei: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wrtXAJYXrHs&sns=em

This is for a three straw lei: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nf04OQ4dSKU&sns=em

Hope this helps. It’s really easy and fast. If you aren’t able to see it just YouTube it.

There are cool ribbon leis too. http://www.sakacon.com/2011/05/diy-ribbon-lei-v2.html?m=1

http://www.sakacon.com/2012/05/diy-ribbon-lei-v11.html?m=1

To add the kukui nuts & shells you just have to tie off then put the kukui nut then start again. You can put beads or fake flowers too if you want.
What Are You Musing About?

