h1

Passion Revisted

December 6, 2013

One of my very first posts was a random post about the passion in the scene between Captain Von Trapp and Maria, in the rain. That smoldering look in his eyes, that devoted longing in hers…

Last night the girls and I watched the live broadcast of The Sound of Music with Carrie Underwood as Maria and Stephen Moyer as the Captain.

My review: a wonderful production. The girls and I enjoyed comparing the storyline, the additional scenes. I felt the tension about the Nazis and the danger was much more palpable.

Carrie Underwood is a very talented singer but I missed the upper ranges of Julie Andrews–that’s what I was expecting. That being said, Carrie’s performance was enjoyable and probably much like the way anyone who is not Julie Andrews would sing it.

And for the most part Carrie’s acting was okay–I found her a believable governess and her scenes with Liesl were good. But I missed the passion. Not just with the Captain. With the hills–Julie Andrews had such an energy and you could understand why “Maria was a problem”.

Maybe having Maria not be so doe-eyed was more realistic.

Afterall, the play and the movie are supposed to be different from the real life Von Trapps. Was Carrie more like the real Maria?

It is on my wish-list to read the books written both by Maria Von Trapp and one of the children to compare the realities of their story to the adaptation.

What Are You Musing About?

