h1

Thirty Days of Thanks Week 2

November 16, 2013
Nov. 9 I am thankful that I’ve had opportunities to see good come out of bad, sometimes horrible, situations. That is a rare luxury when often we cry out “Why?” and never get the answer–or really never hear the answer. More than once God has shown me that if I just let Him he’ll turn it into something for His glory and I end up richly blessed. Undeservedly so but blessed nonetheless. Thanks for showing me again this morning.
Nov. 10 Because it is JL’s birthday, I want to say that I am thankful for her and all the other wonderful counselors at CampTwho have loved on and doted on T1 & T2 (and put up with their neurotic mother). Jeanie, Ashleigh, Gelpi, Hannah, Andie, Gabby J, Gabby Flo, Audrey, Jill, Lucy, Shaina, Julianna, Lara, Leah. And the guy councilors aren’t too shabby themselves!
PS: Without JL & MF, [my son] would not have been able to function at Camp. All the counselors are great, but those two deserve extra special kudos.
H&RH: You should have seen the get-together we organized for her with our students in our village last night. They loved to see her again and we all had a great time.
JL: Oh my goodness. Thank you guys so much. I can feel so much love even thousands of miles away. Camp is a part of my life that made me who I am today. God gets all the glory… it’s not without him I am the way I am. God has blessed each of us with gifts and talents that he uses to spread his kingdom and I am just glad that I have that privilege and use it. Thank you parents and volunteers for your encouragement and support. Without you we wouldn’t be where we are either. God is so good even with a divided Israel and Christianity being sent to the backseat around the world. The world needs more people like you. I am so blessed to have been a part of your lives…thank you for welcoming me and my crazy self.
       Oh my birthday was amazing. This just was the cherry on top of a day full of love and cherished moments. Thank you again.
Nov. 11 I am thankful for all the men and women in the Air Force, Army, Coast Guard, Marines, Merchant Marine, and Navy (and National Guard) who have served our country past, present, and future. I am thankful to the families who make the s…acrifices along side them. Thank you John, Frank, Tom, Bill, Steve, John, Tom, John, Joe, Forest, Jack, and the Chief (my family needs to come up with more original names! However it does make it easier to blog anonymously with such generic names!) and that’s not all. Thank you to the many veteran friends who I am privileged to know–growing up in this area brings so many into our lives.
Nov. 12 Been thinking about this one since Sunday in the Young Adults Class … okay, so you know the Chief and I really don’t fall into that catagory anymore but I get so much out of the class. Anyway, I’m thankful to all the people who worked with me as a teen and as a young adult …  Dave, John, Stu, Keith, Dave and Kim, Alfred, Juli and Bill, Lowell. And I am so thankful to those working with our girls now … the B, the Os, the Ks. You are making such a difference!
JP: You were a joy to have in class… always ready with good questions and thought-provoking observations. I was blessed by having the opportunity to teach you.
KB: It’s hard for me to believe you all of you are all grown up now. Dave and I were so blessed to get to know you all. I’m so glad we’ve gotten to connect again!
LW:  It’s a blessing to know you are teaching others now. I remember our Bible studies in the dorm room at LC with B and D.
Nov. 13 As I struggled with this morning’s training run today (“Crying? There is no crying in this gym!”) I have to be thankful and remind myself of the things I can do today that were in doubt two years ago. Each step and each press at the gym are gifts that could have been so easily taken from me. So today was hard? At least I have the choice to decide to run a 5k and put myself through this. Sure, I’m going to have good days and bad days–that’s the nature of the beast (PsA)–and maybe today was a bad one, but I finished.
Nov. 14 Today I am thankful our sweet greyhounds Crookshanks and Hedwig and the greyhound of my heart, Cassiopeia. Being involved with retired racing hounds has been such a blessing–especially the companionship and comfort of having them in the home. Having a greyhound got me to do something I had only dared dream of (because getting up in garb and interacting with playtrons is so not in the comf…ort zone of this introvert) and introduced me to a whole new world and wonderful people (Jenifer & Angie!) that I am now starting to share with my two-legged girls. I love getting to “sneak” them into school for “G” week and watching children interact with them. And as they say, once you go grey you never go back! I can’t imagine our home without at least one greyhound in it ever again.

Nov. 15 Today I’m thankful to companies that still give donations locally. Long day getting ready for my event with 63 girls tomorrow and those donations helped us to stay on budget and make a little profit towards the troop’s goals. Many chain retailers have gone to just supporting one cause but it is nice that some still give back to the communities that support their business. Either way though, the giving practices of many corporations go unknown by most and never get reported, especially when larger companies get dragged through the mud in the press and court. And some corporations are so vilified in the press that when it is known what they give charitably that it is never enough.

KT: Glad people gave……and your troop has a bit of a profit (bonus) : )

SnipeWife: I did a better job of budgeting this year and had more donations so it helped a bunch! Prayers that the 7 hour workshop goes well would be appreciated!

SV: With all your excellent planning, I am sure that it will be a resounding success.  We’re looking forward to it.

CCL: Thank you for all your hard work.

Nov. 16 I am thankful for everyone who made today’s event a success. The parents, leaders, and SUD who brought their girls out for what is essentially “school on Saturday”; the teens who were basically gophers and trash collectors and skit actors; co-leaders who so willingly said “What can I do?”; the Green Knight who picked up 25 pizzas and shouted for everyone to tie their shoes; and the 6 local women who shared their experiences and demonstrated why they are role models. I am exhausted, but it’s a good kind of exhausted.

What Are You Musing About?

