h1

Happy 4th!

July 4, 2013

I’m not sure there will be much in the way of fireworks around here…

The past three years I had been working at Bible camp and got to enjoy a cook out and fireworks over the lake. I’m not teaching this week but T2 is a camper so she will have a blast.

My friend who used to host a 4th party but took a few years off … is having a party this year. But I am sans children and hubby. She understood that given events earlier this week that I was not in a solo socializing mood. She is such a good friend.

I was also invited to go into the city with friends and stay for the fireworks but their daughter, who was camping with T2, got sent home with a virus for two days so they took her back to camp today. Poor thing. I’ll probably bring her with us next week when we go to camp to work on T1’s Silver project (we once a week).

T1 is at the grandparents because we did not have music lessons this week. She has spent the day puking. Actually she puked half way through Despicable Me 2–and the nice theater manager gave them a refund so they could see it again.

It is already July 5th where the Chief is. I am waiting for the call to tell me he has made it to port safely. My hat is off to those spouses with mariners who run long haul and international … especially in this day and age of pirates.

Independence Day … you know, when you think about it, Independence was only a last resort to our determined founding fathers, something they had wanted to avoid. Makes you wonder if George III had just listened to the people what would things be like today. Makes me wish those we elect would listen to the people. But then, when a dismal number of people fail to exercise their right to vote (and I don’t always vote in primaries, etc.), would we ever be able to have a “people’s vote”? Or would it be like some totalitarian nightmare and that kind of vote if it didn’t go the way of those in power would just be ignored?

Enough ramblings for the day… tomorrow I will despair over the fact that 9 out of 10 of my newest “followers” all want to sell me their newsletters about how to make money blogging. BOOOOO. How did I attract these idiots?

What Are You Musing About?

