h1

Amusements Parks during Spring Break

April 2, 2013
An example of a roller coaster, one of the sta...

An example of a roller coaster, one of the staples of modern amusement parks (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ok so I know I’m supposed to be listening but I don’t think I know what for today.

We’re on Spring Break. We enjoyed a great Easter visit with family and a bilingual sermon. Yesterday we went bowling. Today we were going to go to an amusement park after the Chief went to get blood work and I got impressions made for my final crown. At the last minute the Chief had a pride-bruising moment and twisted his ankle. Because we need him mobile tomorrow to hike in the mountains to design a letterboxing program for T1’s Silver Award (why we didn’t think to wait and do this awesome project for her Gold Award is beyond me and I have no idea how we will top this) he decided to stay home and ice it.

My girls actually behaved which was a big improvement from the night before in the department store where the Chief was trying to order new work boots. But unfortunately today there were a few people and incidents which left a sour taste in my mouth.

To the Junior highschool boy who thought he was all that who kept reaching outside the roller coaster to touch the fence even though the attendants announced multiple times “Do NOT touch the fence” and thus causing the ride operators to stop the ride just feet from the top of the largest hill: Thank you. And yes, I did call out quite loudly “Thank you.” Yes, I was talking to you and your immature friends who thought this was funny.

To the lady who thought I was nuts for following the rules even on a day when there aren’t crowds: sorry, I’m setting an example for my children. And thank you to the attendant who backed me up.

Here’s what happened: the swings are one of my favorite rides. No crowds means the FastPass system is really pointless. There were two open stalls in the waiting area. One for FastPasses and one for everyone else. The signs weren’t that big but even my children who can’t see snakes in front of them saw them. We stood in the “everyone else” lane but several people were in the FastPass lane. So the attendant lets the FastPass lane go–really she should have been checking for the bracelets but who am I to tell her how to do her job? A brother and a sister go through leaving their mom behind me. “Aren’t you going on?” “Why, yes. But that is the FastPass lane. I’m waiting.” “What? There ain’t no FastPass on a day like today!” Then the attendant stepped in, confirmed what I said and even gave her a lengthy explanation of the program as she was checking the belts.

To the lady in front of my daughter and I who thought inconveniencing everyone by throwing off the lines was okay and then when I didn’t agree and chose to not continue the inconvenience you chose to call me a profane name in front of the daughter who I sent on alone: you are lucky I did not find you later in the park.

Here is what happened: T2 and I get into one lane and then T1 gets into one beside us. Normally I will just get into lines and figure out if we’re “riding together” and it usually doesn’t bother me if we aren’t. It turns out that T1 had two people ahead of her and we had two people ahead of us. Great. However the lady in front of us was with others and they had two people in front of them, not one. So she asked if we would go ahead of her. I politely said, “I’m riding with my other daughter.” She then asked the teens behind T1 but they said the same thing. THEN she asked the people behind me but they too were riding with others. So this lady takes it upon herself to wait, throwing everyone else off. I said, “Well now I can’t ride with my child.” “Well I’m not splitting up my family.” Yes, I was in the position of having to send my child on ahead but her child was riding with another parent and she couldn’t be split up? She actually said at least twice: “You could do the same thing and just wait.” My response: “Um, no. I’m not going to do that.” I think I may have added things like, “It’s pointless. I’m not going to mess everyone else up.” So before they loaded I made sure to get T1’s attention and very clearly asked, “Are you going to be okay? Just wait for us.” (If it had been T2 riding alone I probably would have jumped over to her and let T1 ride alone.) The women behind me shook their heads and agreed that inconveniencing everyone was not the right thing to do and thought the woman was off her rocker for suggesting I do the same thing to everyone else. After the ride we found T1 sitting where she was supposed to. “That woman was talking about you to her husband. You know how I know? She pointed at me and called you a B***H.”

Are you kidding me? I will not deny that I continued to look for that woman and her family. I was itching to confront her for doing that in front of my child without me there to defend and put her in her place. I probably would have taken on the husband too.

Okay. Okay. I get it. Not listening. Not being a light.

The final straw came from employees. Sadly it came after a security guard walked T1 down to wait for us at the entrance while T2 and I rode a roller coaster for her first time. So we were let into the building to go line up in the stalls. The last row was empty but there was nothing indicating it’s not in use nor did the attendants say anything to us as we’re standing there, waiting. We got to the cars and I stopped one to make sure the car wasn’t broken or something because I saw no one get off. “Oh, yeah, you are supposed to use the last row.” So thankfully the gates haven’t closed and we got back behind them. I see that in that stall is a trashcan. I very loudly said, “Here, why don’t we move the trashcan over so people don’t line up here?”

I get it. Probably a long day. It was about an hour to closing but come on people. Really?

So I am not sure what I was supposed to be listening to. All I know is there were some really rude and selfish people at the park today. And I had a short fuse that could have gotten me in some trouble. This park is not one we usually go to as we prefer a different one in the fall for our Halloween fix and we’ve gone to Disneyland and Universal in Florida several times. That’s not to say there are rude and selfish people at those parks but even the Chief said as I was relating this to him, “You’re making me glad I didn’t go.” And I’m glad I didn’t opt for season passes.

2 comments

  1. I agree with you, I think the lesson to teach your children is more important here. I am so upset on a daily basis with rude people, rude drivers, rude and inconsiderate employees, why do we even leave the house?


    • I probably close to not being an example with the short fuse I had today. I did a quick edit on the article because rereading it made it seem I suggested she wait. Heck, I realy wanted to tell her and her family to get to the end of the line if it was that important.



What Are You Musing About?

