h1

Five-Minute Friday: Remember

March 22, 2013

Now, set your timer, clear your head, for five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking. 2. Link back here and invite others to join in. 3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

___________________________________________________________

Remember that they are just children.

Remember that they have feelings too.

Remember that your grumpy mood impacts them … even if your aches and pains make you want to roll over and pull the blanket over your head.

Remember to say “I love you.”

Remember to show “I love you.”

Hold them today. Say you are sorry you were not in the best of moods this morning. Say “I love you.” Hold them so tight they groan “Moooommmmm! Let go!” Then squeeze again.

Remember that we are not guaranteed tomorrow.

But remember to live life to the fullest, not in fear. Not in regret.

Remember to appreciate today.

Even if they roll their eyes, bite as if they are a toddler, or insist that you be semi-coherent first thing in the morning.

My grumpy mood could be the last words spoken (or in my case unspoken). What a regret that would be! 3 PM can’t get here fast enough.

I will hold tight. I will remember. I will try to do better.

______________________________________________________

I have so much more to write than just five minutes. But I have no words. Just heartache for an old friend who lost a child this morning. This child, only in her 20s, the mother of her own 1 year old … gone too soon. And not the mother’s first loss. Dear friend–you who have shown me so much courage in the face of so much tragedy, your strength, love, compassion, graciousness, such an example and uplifting spirit–dear friend, may God wrap you in His arms. May your babies be greeting each other in heaven today.

7 comments

  1. Oh wow. Thank you for these good reminders today. #fmf


  2. Thank you for your encouragement of kind words on my FMF post today at Under the Shadow of His Wings … Yours is very good. And I’m sorry about your friend. I cannot imagine. God bless you.-Cassy


    • Thank you. There truly are no words so I wasn’t sure what would come out. My sympathetic ache is nothing to the emptiness my friend must be feeling.


  3. My prayers go our to your friend. And thank you for your wonderful words to always appreciate today. Beautifully written. Blessings to you.
    Stopping by from FMF.


  4. Wonderful reminders, so sorry for your friend’s loss. A broken heart, so sad.



What Are You Musing About?

