h1

I Promised….

March 19, 2013

a bunch of posts after my scrapbooking weekend. But I don’t know where to start.

Often that feeling is exactly what keeps people from ever starting anything. It can be paralyzing. I figured if I put this off much longer I’d forget what I wanted to write and I’d be hard pressed to find new things to write.

I have lots to say just not lots of focus or time to say them.

I will start with the birthday. I’m not sure why I celebrate it any more … okay, that doesn’t sound right. There was a time when my birthday represented more negative than positive. I guess now I just don’t want a big fuss because I don’t need anything or particularly expect anything. I get to celebrate my birthday with my friends, scrapbooking for 48 hours. What more could I want?

But I have dear friends who in spite of my protests “No, no, don’t do anything/give anything!” still took me out to lunch and gave me gifts. Really, just the long lunch was fine (but I love my new Wonder Woman cooler cup!). We actually had the hubby of one friend join us to celebrate his birthday too. And I ate the chocolate moose muffin from Mimi’s Cafe for dinner–how’s that for celebrating on the wild side?

The best thing ?… the Chief worked hard to find just the right gift. He spent a few days searching Ebay auctions and researching and at 9 PM on Sunday night won an auction to give me my own oboe! I had to ask him what brought this about and his reply was simply “You said you wanted one.”

Trying not to pass up a teaching moment, I made sure that when the Chief asked me what I thought an oboe was worth and how much he should spend that T1 was within ear shot and I replied, “I know how much I wouldn’t go over because this is definitely a want and not a need.” I am happy to say the Chief has mad Ebay auction skills and got a great price for this oboe.

It has been over 20 years since I’ve played. I loved going to the music store and buying the reed and cleaning kit. I even picked up the same lesson books T2 is studying out of — BTW, alto sax and oboe are in the same key so we can work together — and some simple music.

Playing the oboe is exhausting! It is coming back to me and I don’t sound as much like a duck as I did in 9th grade which earned me the Duckie award from the band teacher. I still have the duck Christmas ornament my band geek friends gave me. 🙂

To anyone else this might seem like an odd gift but really it was the perfect gift. In a lot of ways it was the Chief saying “I love you” without saying those words. It reminded me of our first Valentines where he won me a copy of the stuffed Chewbacca doll my dog ate (this was back in the beginnings of Ebay in 1996). Again, what an odd but awesome gift that had “I love you” written all over it.

Of course I’ve had a few hecklers say “If all you had to do was say you wanted some

A modern oboe with a reed.

A modern oboe with a reed. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

thing, next time go big!” Nah, to me this was big.

Thanks, Chief. I love you too.

2 comments

  1. A thoughtful hubby. You are a lucky girl! Happy birthday!


  2. […] passionately. But I still love to sing and love to “quack” my way through a song on the oboe the Chief got me this year. I love sharing musical tastes and experiences with my girls. I love […]



What Are You Musing About?

