h1

What Do Girl Scouts and Merchant Mariners have in Common?

January 14, 2013

Well, it is Girl Scout Cookie time here in our little portion of the world. But this is a blog about a merchant mariner’s wife and life. So I thought I’d give you a little bit of trivia to tie the two together.

The Juliette Gordon Low Facebook page posted a picture of the Liberty Ship named in her honor.

Wikipedia states:

The 20th National Council of the GSUSA launched the Mariner Girl Scout program in October 1934.[24] Similar to the Boy Scouts’ Sea Scouts, the program was designed for older Girl Scouts interested in outdoor water-based activities. By the end of 1934, 12 Mariner ships were registered and the first two handbooks, Launching a Girl Scout Mariner Ship and Charting the Course of a Girl Scout Mariner Ship were published. The Mariner Girl Scout program remains active but in a smaller form; most girls have instead joined the Sea Scouts, which has been co-ed since 1971.[25]

Vintage Girl Scouts Online Museum has a wealth of information about Mariner Scouts.

There are still Mariner Scout Ships today.

MSS Tradewind

Sadly one internet link is no longer active and the other one, connected to a Sea Scout Boat in Groton, CT, has not been updated since 2010.

In 2010 I found Mariner Pin requirements slightly different from the ones you’ll see on the Tradewind page. I don’t have the original source written down but from what I can tell they may be 2010 Tradewind requirements. Maybe one day will have the Chief go over the requirements with T1 and T2 just for larks.

3 comments

  1. very interesting! I had no idea.


    • I didn’t either until I was looking for a leader pin and I saw the mariner pin. At the headquarters they also show they had “Air” scouts associated with air force and flying. Many of the adventure oriented girl scouts have merged with Venturer group, co-ed Boy Scouts.


  2. That’s right … it slipped my mind but it is Girl Scout cookie time! I shall keep my eyes open for them! Thin Mints here I come!! (Just when I try to do better on my diet, something like this happens. )



What Are You Musing About?

