h1

Smile

January 4, 2013

This week’s Bench Message is:

SmileBenches: Smile, copyright SnipeWife 2013

I’m going to do this in all my stuffy red-nosed glory. I have to wear a smile inside and out. Overlooking the fact I have had some strange illness–all the symptoms of a bad cold yet none of the true markers like nasty phlegm or a fever–these have been some blessed days.

New Years was amazing having a house full of people, cooperative children who helped with the burden of cleaning AND cooking, great food, relaxed conversation … you get the picture. Though I sure missed the Chief.

I’ve been working on resolutions and starting new projects. I’ve been inspired by some awesome women.

The cold, or whatever it is, is getting me down. And some of the post holidays let-down is creeping in. I have to watch for SAD. I know I need sunlight but I haven’t been able to muster getting out of bed in the morning. And someone has poked at an old but healing wound. Hopefully tomorrow will be better. I will put on my smile till then and grin and bear it.

I like reading about the stories some are sharing about trying to smile more at strangers. Or at the person who makes their coffee or provides some other usually anonymous service.

So I will smile. To lift myself up and to be kind to someone else. Tomorrow will be a better day–have some errands to run. I will smile to get through it and maybe I’ll just surprise myself at how much better I will feel. I don’t want this blessed feeling to end.

I started these Bench Posts when I was working on Project 365. I abandoned both during a very stressful period earlier this year when I almost gave up on this blog. I’ve only been back at this for a couple of months. I hope to blog the entire series of Bench photos. For the original posts, check out the following:

Project 365: Week 9

Be Funny

Be Fearless

6 comments

  1. You’ve made some changes! I like it, very sophisticated! I’ve been sick too, on antibiotics, how about you?


    • I am trying to hold off on antibiotics–once I take them I cannot take my shots. Plus, no fever, no goo… it’s like the anti-cold. I do see my GP next week so if it hasn’t cleared up…


  2. Your post brought to my mind a favorite song that I heard sung recently at a Tony Bennet concert.

    Smile though your heart is aching
    Smile even though it’s breaking
    When there are clouds in the sky, you’ll get by
    If you smile through your fear and sorrow
    Smile and maybe tomorrow
    You’ll see the sun come shining through for you

    Light up your face with gladness
    Hide every trace of sadness
    Although a tear may be ever so near
    That’s the time you must keep on trying
    Smile, what’s the use of crying?
    You’ll find that life is still worthwhile
    If you just smile

    Thinking of you….♥ paula


    • Oh, thank you so much! I think I’m going to have to find a copy of that song and add it to my play list.


      • You are so welcome. It always makes me tear up…but in a good way! 🙂


  3. Sometimes even a fake smile can turn into a real one if you do it often enough.



What Are You Musing About?

