h1

Empowering and Powerful Women

January 3, 2013

I am cautious about who I “Like” and “Share” because of the implication of association. Personally for the Chief’s job I have to be careful to never mention his company, etc. Other times, yeah, that picture maybe the funniest thing out there but don’t you see the profanity in the source name? I’ve had to out of necessity accept friend requests from scout parents and therefore need to watch these things (because I’m social network unsavvy–just NOW realized I could have created an entirely separate FB profile with my scout e-mail address for all those parents to friend–duh! I really need a face palm on this one!)

A great deal of the time those “Likes” and “Shares” also connect you with people and organizations that while that one picture was funny may on the whole have views and agendas quite contrary to your own. Again, I have to make sure the Chief is not associated with things. Whether you agree with that or not, believe it is an infringement of rights or totally agree–it is in his contract. Those are the rules. So I live by them. And I live by my conservative religious beliefs too–or try to as I often fall so short!

But I am going to share with you three projects and organizations started by 4 very strong and amazing women. All three projects were launched on New Years. While I don’t always agree with some of their views or political stances, the good they are doing and will do is by far the most important thing.

The Eleanor Project: We Are All Beautiful
We are two women — mothers, wives, daughters, friends — who want to change the perception of what is beautiful. We don’t buy into the ideal of beauty pushed by Hollywood and glossy magazines; not when there are so many incredible women all around us.

Christian Aid Network
The Christian Aid Network is committed to making a difference in the fight to end hunger, homelessness, and hardship by empowering people through nutrition, education, resources, and support while encouraging self-sufficiency. *Currently only on FB but give her some time!

365 Days of Random Acts of Kindness
While there are a few groups with the same name on Facebook, this is the one started by Hillbilly Debutante. She is encouraging everyone to share their Random Acts of Kindness, not for praise but for inspiration. If you’ve read HB’s first book, you know that she was subjected to the worst in humanity and yet she has risen above that and the generosity of her and her husband is truly uplifting.

2 comments

  1. I love the idea of the Random Acts of Kindness. I think that’s fabulous!


  2. I’ve only recently done the FB/twitter thing and I’m pretty new to everything. I like the idea of being positive, tho. And I know what you’re saying about not mentioning the company, etc.!!



What Are You Musing About?

