h1

Naming the Year

January 1, 2013

For the blog that inspired this, please visit Staying Sane and her Dec. 31st post.

What would you Name your year? What was last year? What will this year be?

If I had to describe 2012 … The Year of Answers. The answers weren’t always the ones I wanted either. Some were delivered by flying bricks while others came in a still, quiet Voice.

And 2013?

I like the number 13. I turned 13 on Friday the 13th. 18 and 30 as well … and I guess a few other years. I’m hoping it will be a good year. I’m ready for a good year.

But what would I name it?

Here is my reply to Staying Sane:

This is a good one … and a tough one. What do I want 2013 to be? T2 finishes
elementary school and starts middle school; T1 begins her last year of middle
school. I want Mom to be healthy. Those are big things … but I think this has
to be the Year of Listening. There is a still, quiet voice I think I’ve been
resisting, and I think there is something I’m supposed to do. Question is, will
I?

The Year of Listening.

I’ll let you know if I do.

What will you name 2013? Share here and go visit Staying Sane to tell her too.

10 comments

  1. For me it’s the year of fabulousness.


    • Yeah! And I hope to be fabulous with you in March and to get some family pictures done by your fabulous self soon!


  2. Oh … what a thoughtful answer. I think we all know that voice but slowing down to listen to it isn’t always easy.

    Happy New Year — wishing you all the best.


  3. […] Right now I have to say there are lots of doors of temptation more than opportunity and I’m desperately trying to stay behind what I know is safe and right because I’m having trouble finding my way to the door of new blessings I know God has in store (remember, I’m trying to make this the year of Listening). […]


  4. […] We were asked what does in mean to be “Full of grace and truth?” It was a great discussion. I don’t know whether the following can be attributed to the facilitator or the N.T. Wright but it struck a chord with me, especially as I’m trying to make this the Year of Listening. […]


  5. […] this Year of Listening thing is going to be […]


  6. […] this is my Year of Listening I understand that in order to listen we have to sometimes stop […]


  7. […] weekend. Been doing many things, soccer season just kicked off … and I’ve been listening. Need to process those thoughts. I hope everyone is enjoying their March. It was nice to have the […]


  8. […] so I know I’m supposed to be listening but I don’t think I know what for […]


  9. […] Related Articles: Naming the Year […]



What Are You Musing About?

