h1

Romantic Christmas Songs Part 2

December 13, 2012

Seeing as this is my most popular topic/post I thought I should add a few this year.

For the original list, please see Romantic Christmas Songs. I still maintain “Don’t Take Down the Mistletoe” is the most romantic.

So this year I’d like to add:

Let It Snow by Straight No Chaser on their 2009 Christmas Cheers album. What makes this special and more romantic over others? Well, the thought of a 10 member-boy/man group singing to me … and bringing the corn for popping … you get the point. Actually they did a great arrangement and unlike the slightly creepy undertones of Baby, It’s Cold Outside I think anyone romantically involved could be persuaded to Let It Snow and stay by the fire. Additionally–I love, LOVE, their rendition of You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch. Not romantic–just cool!

On This Winter’s Night by Lady Antebellum on their new album of the same name. I believe this is one of two original songs on the album, written by the three members. What I liked about this song is that it definitely starts off with expressing romantic love. Then mid-way through the song a children’s chorus joins in and it becomes about familial love–that’s where romance should lead after all. Finally, with the verses about the King became a Child and the Child became a King, the song becomes about reverent love. This is reminiscent of The Greatest Gift of All by Dolly Parton and Kenny Rogers.

I really need to get a copy of Michael Buble’s Christmas album to see if he has some romantic offering to make one swoon. I also want to check out Francesca Battistelli’s new Christmas album.

3 comments

  1. Update Dec. 16, 2012:
    I would really love to post the comments from this one person. They are intelligent and on-topic. However, the links to their website leave me wondering about the validity of their identity and purpose for commenting.

    So I will leave you with their comment and no link. Bad form? Well, I’d probably do the same if say a car dealership or a dentist suddenly started commenting.

    “On her first full-length Christmas album, pianist/vocalist Diana Krall delivers a smoky, sophisticated, and slightly melancholy album perfectly suited to accompany egg nog cocktails and romantic afterglow holiday affairs. Although there isn’t anything unexpected on Christmas Songs — Irving Berlin ‘s “Count Your Blessings Instead of Sheep” is as close to obscure as it gets — Krall coos life into such standards as “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas,” “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve,” and “I’ll Be Home for Christmas.” It also doesn’t hurt that she gains top-notch support from the Clayton-Hamilton Orchestra , whose urbane arrangements help bring to mind similar works by such iconic vocalists as Nat King Cole , June Christy , and Frank Sinatra . But it’s not all deep sighs and bedroom eyes; on the contrary, Krall keeps things swinging with such uptempo numbers as the joyous “Jingle Bells,” “Winter Wonderland,” and the Blossom Dearie -inflected “Santa Claus Is Coming to Town.” If you like your holiday albums cool and classy, Christmas Songs is a stocking stuffer that’s sure to please.”

    Obviously, I will have to check out Diana Krall too. You can check her out at http://www.dianakrall.com.


  2. […] popularly viewed post is my Romantic Christmas Songs list from 2011 with 374 views! In contrast, Part 2 written last year has only had 7 […]


  3. […] Songs is still my number 1 post of all time with 687 views. Don’t forget to check out Part 2 and my 2013 review of Trace Atkins and the […]



What Are You Musing About?

