h1

Squishy Squishy

October 25, 2012

I went for my first mammogram today. At o-dark-thirty! To his credit, the Chief offered repeatedly to go with me and as much as I wanted him there, the children could not be left to get ready for school alone.

The actual squashing wasn’t so bad. It was the top plate jammed against my pectoral muscles that hurt and left red marks. Ouch!

The tech was good and caring. I appreciated that.

This is the shirt I bought at Wal-Mart to wear on the days my mom has chemo. A portion of the proceeds went to the National Breast Cancer Research Foundation.

I did not request the two-hour call back but I was assured that if something was seen I would get a call later today or first thing tomorrow by a nurse. If everything was normal a letter would go out either later today or first thing in the morning.

I was also told that it is not uncommon for a call-back on a first time mammogram. They have nothing to compare it to so they want to make sure. That is what a base-line is for so that is reassuring.

One of these days I need to sit down and write out my medicines and my medical history and keep it in my purse. I need to do this for me and for the girls. Actually, for the Breast Cancer Awareness badges they are earning one activity is to write down the family history. It will be good to get it done.

Another activity was to visit a mammography center. I silently debated about bringing T1 with me. Ultimately I decided not to–just not knowing how she’d do emotionally. I will bring both of them when I get one done at 40 (they will be 14 & 12 respectively).

What’s your opinion? Would (is) 12 have been too young to take her? Or is it a wise thing to keep them prepared and to understand early detection is going to be the key?

3 comments

  1. My parental philosophy was to shield my son from as much reality as possible; I don’t have a girl so I’m not sure what I would do, and I’m not sure that my son benefitted from my extreme overprotectiveness, but as he’s a pretty happy, productive guy, who knows? Good luck with the results! I hate getting that done, too.


    • My oldest actually exhibited a little bit of anger when she realized my mom didn’t want the girls to be told right away (but she was on speaker phone). So totally shielding them from it is not an option. I think waiting for the youngest to be 12 and we’re past all this (hopefully) will be the best thing. Right now might have been too emotionally charged–I know it made me more anxious. No word yet but I’m assuming that’s good.


  2. I’m sorry for the challenges your family is going through right now.

    What worked best for our family during difficult times was to let them know in general terms, and normalize it as much as possible. Then, continue giving more information as they asked -keeping the door open. If we held back, there was resentment in the long run. Seems a good rule of thumb was to treat them the way we’d want them to treat us.

    Good luck to you all.



What Are You Musing About?

