h1

Inspiring? Me?

September 9, 2012

Wow! Many thanks to fellow merchant marine wife Enchanted Seashells for nominating me for Most Inspiring Blog Award.

The rules to the Very Inspiring Blogger Award are as follows:|

    Display the Nomination logo on your blog     Link back to the person who nominated you     State 7 things about yourself     Nominate 15 others and link to them     Notify those bloggers of the nominations & award requirement

I am assuming this is the logo. I kind of like it.

Enchanted Seashells nominated me. She is the wife of a tug boat captain. Is she violating some unwritten deck vs. engine rule? Could this cause a major incident in the merchant marine world?

Well, I’ve viewed her blog and I am so excited to see someone else has taken up the challenge to write about “This Life.” She’s got about two years extra experience and her children are grown so she is in a phase of “This Life” that I haven’t approached yet. Honestly when we are empty-nesters the Chief will have just retired from sailing but we will both begin working at that point–scary thought to think that is just 9 years away. (Okay, he hasn’t said he’d go for a full 30 and I can’t tell him what to do, but let’s just say 9 years is the maximum we’d have). So I look forward to reading more about her life and thinking about my life to come.

Seven Things About Me… 1. I am not food adventurous. If I find something I like at a restaurant, chances are I will always order the same thing. It is all about comfort.
2. On the Grace Gifts Inventory, I scored the highest as a Giver. I love to Give. I feel so blessed (and spoiled by the Chief) that I will give the shirt off my back (or his) if asked. I like giving my time and money, especially to children. I also like doing this anonymously–I really don’t want anyone to know where the money comes from. However, if anyone acts ungrateful (my children included) I really don’t like it.
3. I don’t wear make-up. Except for family pictures. Ooo… that’s coming up as soon as the Chief gets home!
4. Olives. It is the weirdest family tradition but it gives me and my siblings such comfort. My mother always put out an olive and pickle tray at every fancy holiday meal. Black olives, green olives, and kosher dill spears. My siblings and I would always circle around the table and grab an olive thinking no one saw us. When dinner was finally called, the tray would be almost empty. Now as adults we still do it and say things like “Don’t think I didn’t see you!” “I’m telling!” Sadly, my children have not inherited my family fondness for olives or pickles.
5. My favorite TV shows right now are Once Upon a Time and Alphas. I’m watching both of them with T1 & T2 (with a little censoring of the last one). I feel a little bad though because these are not like the family shows I grew up watching–M*A*S*H, Family Ties, Cosby Show, Murder She Wrote, etc. but I can only watch so much iCarly, Jesse, and Victorious before I’m even quoting the lines!
6. I want to take a hot air balloon ride.
7. I’m worried I will actually have a hard time letting go of the school store once T2 leaves elementary school this year.

Okay, so I’ve seen that sometimes this award says to nominate only 7 other bloggers. I can’t really think of 7, let alone 15 … and not because I don’t think there aren’t inspiring bloggers out there but really because I haven’t gotten out there lately. I haven’t done Mama Kat’s, I haven’t done One Month, I haven’t done Five-Minute Fridays…. I really need to. And I really need to get to writing a book about the events this summer. I will get to it when the Chief gets home.

So I will nominate one young mother (who I know will keep my anonymity if she figures it out because I know her mother has…) Thoughts from a mommy, wife and friend… I am nominating her because she has recently gotten back to blogging in the midst of the trial of sending her first-born to school. She is so candid and so heartfelt about all that she is going through. Her prayers for her daughter are so real–and if she manages to keep the blog through the years, imagine what her daughter will feel later when reading her mother’s words.

Thoughts from a mommy, wife and friend So that is who is inspiring me today and who I think is deserving of the award.

Thanks again, Enchanting Seashells… looking forward to sharing more of “This Life” with you and all the other wives out there who know what I’m talking about!

2 comments

  1. The captain just called me and said to tell you some of his best friends are engineers, so no rivalry here!


    • A good engineer is a captain’s best friend! Thanks!



What Are You Musing About?

