h1

Independence Day

July 4, 2012

Happy 4th of July!

I’ve been MIA because I was in Savannah, GA visiting the birthplace of Juliette Gordon Low and the First Headquarters of the Girl Scouts. T1, T2, and my MIL were with me. My mother was to go but due to circumstances out of her control she could not attend. I thought it was pretty gracious of her to let MIL take her place.

Today, after recovering from the trip yesterday, we are enjoying a quiet day with family. The Chief is due to ship out within the week and the girls and I are about to attend church camp. So it is a picnic of yummy Sheetz sandwiches and ice-cold ice tea and taking the dogs with us to find a nice place to enjoy our lunch. The Chief doesn’t want to grill in this heat and I don’t blame him. Unfortunately it looks like a forecast of storms tonight so we may not be able to see any fireworks.

Last year the Chief was at sea. T2 and I were at camp and T1 was riding in my hometown parade with my mother who was Citizen of the Year. She had such a blast waving at everyone and throwing candy. We are so proud of my mother for all that she does through the corporate giving program at her place of employment.

I guess I am like her (GASP!) because I took the Grace Gifts assessment for Bible class and I scored strongly as the Giver. My second was a Shepherd, and third and fourth were tied Teacher and Evangelist. It is an interesting study.

So thank you to all who fought to defend our rights. Past. Present. Future. It is always interesting to note that initially the intent was never to be independent, just to have rights and representation. I think that is probably the same dilemma Robert E. Lee faced with the offer to command the Union troops or go against his home state.

Thank you to the Founding Fathers who made such a hard choice and fought bravely. I don’t know where our country is headed; I despise election years; but I don’t want to get too political on here. We are an independent nation and we must exercise the right to vote and be good citizens. I am always amazed that some of the loudest and rudest complainers didn’t even bother to vote. (I won’t even begin to tell you about the soldier I know who has never voted in an election…)

Enjoy the day. Celebrate. Eat. Ooh and Ahh the fireworks. Stay safe and cool. Don’t forget the sunscreen!

What Are You Musing About?

