h1

Be Brave

April 5, 2012

I really should do these earlier in the week! This week’s bench message is:

Be Brave

What makes a person brave? Copyright SnipeWife

We aren’t all called to be heroes but don’t even the greatest heroes say it would be foolish not to be scared in the face of a threat. We can learn from that.

Brave are the men and women who serve this country in its military forces. Brave are the men and women married to those same heroes who hold down the fort at home. Brave are the mothers who give their children to the military to defend our freedoms.

Brave are the men and women who fight our fires, who pull us from wrecked cars, who fight to save our lives in emergency rooms.

For the rest of us… sometimes being brave is just “Letting Go and Letting God”. Facing the day, facing the trials can at times require an immense amount of bravery. Bravery not to give up the fight.

Brave are the men and women who daily walk with trauma and its unseen scars, who struggle to overcome knowing they will never be the same. I am humbled by their courage to face the day, especially when what I struggle with doesn’t even compare.

Brave are the men and women who face cancer or other diseases with such optimism. Brave are the ones who accept with dignity when the time has come to let go.

We don’t have to be brave alone. “I can do all this through Him who gives me strength.” Phil. 4:13 (NIV) We are never alone.

When I was little I was afraid of the dark. When it would be really bad I would sleep as close to the wall as possible and never turn my back to the open. I would imagine a ball of light surrounding me–Jesus’ light–and nothing could get into that ball of light. That positive imagery was so soothing, so comforting. Even as an adult for relaxation and “talking down from a heightened state” that faith in Jesus and His light still do wonders for me.

One of my children has been more afraid of the dark than the other. I shared with her the “secret” of my Light Ball and my faith in Him. She added her own touch–a quick little whistle to announce the ball of light to all would be creatures that went bump in the night.

It takes a brave person to stand up for another, to stand up for a belief. I tell my children it takes great bravery and courage to tell an adult if they see someone hurt or in danger, especially if they fear getting someone or themselves in trouble. It is not always easy doing the right thing.

I am not as brave as I would like to be. I’ve often said the PsA has made a sissy out of me (low pain tolerance).

As I was thinking about this post, Garth Brooks’ “Standing Outside the Fire” came to mind. The word brave is not used in the actual song but it is about being brave, about living and daring to get burned.

Standing outside the fire
Standing outside the fire
Life is not tried, it is merely survived
If you’re standing outside the fire

If you would like to post on the topic Be Brave, just let me know and I’ll get us linked up.

5 comments

  1. http://birdmartin.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/the-sunshine-award/

    Hi, SnipeWife! I nominated you for the Sunshine Award…Hope you play!

    — Bird


  2. Press on brave one.


    • Thanks! Pressing on toward the goal!


  3. Thanks for sharing these thoughts. I was encouraged! 🙂


    • I felt like I was cheating because I had written it a year ago but thanks for stopping by! Glad you were encouraged by it!



What Are You Musing About?

