h1

Reality Check

April 2, 2012

I was a newlywed when the movie Titanic came out. I was fascinated by all things nautical. I wanted to compare the history books to the dramatic storyline. I wanted to know what happened to the engineers.

All the engineers went down with the ship.

I guess it is mandatory in our state schools to study about the Titanic every two years as the anniversary approaches. Both T1 and T2 are studying it this year. I always throw in, “You know, none of the engineers survive.” Maybe I’m trying to give the girls nightmares? But really I’m trying to give them a greater sense of the needless tragedy and the valiant men who tried everything they could. It wasn’t all Rose and Jack and some pretty bauble. (Seriously I know they haven’t seen the movie yet but one day they will.)

I guess T1 shared this little tidbit with her English teacher, adding, “It creeps me out.” The teacher wisely answered, “You know that was 100-year-old technology. It is not the same today.” T1 answered, “I know but it still bothers me.”

When T1 related this to me (after rolling my eyes at the inaccurate use of “creep out”) I said, “Well, she’s right. Technology is better and they’d have a better chance today. But it is not the equipment they have to worry about, it is the pirates.”

“Pirates?”

“Yeah, pirates. And they’re not like Captain Jack.”

“Oh.”

Again, I think I’m trying to give them nightmares.

gCaptain posted the following report on the M/V Iceberg 1 that has been held by Somali pirates for two years. TWO YEARS.

I think I’m going to have nightmares tonight.

2 comments

  1. T1 sounds like my kid, Bekkie…lol..


  2. […] Reality Check (snipewife.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookDiggLinkedInEmailPrintTumblrStumbleUponRedditPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]



What Are You Musing About?

