h1

Writing Workshop: Without Social Media

February 9, 2012

4. Without social media I… (inspired by a belle, a bean & a Chicago dog) DH’s first response to this was “I’d be more productive” and then I kicked him out of my office.

I don’t Vlog, I don’t Twit, I don’t Google, and my phone is not very smart. So I do blog and I use Facebook.

Without Facebook I
* wouldn’t have reconnected with many classmates in time for my 20th reunion this summer
* wouldn’t have found things like “A Month of Thanksgiving” to keep me grounded
* wouldn’t have discovered and use frequently “vaguebooking” to vent passive aggressively
* wouldn’t have remembered how fun Scrabble could be
* wouldn’t have realized how vulnerable you leave yourself for attack and how brutal that attack could be
* wouldn’t have realized that just because I consider myself a conservative Christian that according to everyone else I must be a hateful, racist, closed-minded, repressed, member of a cult, extremist … just about everything under the sun … and I’ve never said a word against anyone else’s beliefs or denied them the right to express them, but heaven forbid I express mine

Without blogging I
* wouldn’t have continued to educate myself about the maritime industry
* wouldn’t have discovered other cool blogs
* wouldn’t have stretched myself to write for Mama Kat’s
* wouldn’t have a fun way to share with DH when he’s at sea
* wouldn’t be trying Project 365
* wouldn’t have had a safe place to recover and heal from the above FB attack
* would be missing another way to preserve history for T1 and T2

Writing Prompts:

1.) Who was at your front door? (inspired by fam mum slim)
2. Start with the phrase “Ten years ago on this day, I was…” (inspired by Business 2 Blogger)
3. If you give a Mom a Blank… a post written in the style of the children’s “If You Give A Mouse A Cookie” books. (Inspired by Creative Kristi)
4. Without social media I… (inspired by a belle, a bean & a Chicago dog)
5. A poem for your valentine.

For more information about Mama Kat’s world-famous Writing Workshop, click on that trophy over there…

5 comments

  1. Love the word vaguebooking! One of my nieces is at the Merchant Marine Academy as a freshman – I didn’t think they still existed!!


    • Thanks for visiting! I wish I could take credit for coining “vaguebooking” but I can’t and I can’t remember where I first heard it. All the best to your neice. I believe the correct term is Plebe or 4th Classman. Yup, USMMA still exists… for now.


  2. […] Writing Workshop: Without Social Media (snipewife.wordpress.com) […]


  3. I swear just blogging and Facebook probably takes up plenty of time!! I could spend a day just on those two platforms. 🙂 Glad I’m not the only one!


    • Thanks for dropping in! I am currently resisting finding out more about Pintrest… I hear that is super addictive!



What Are You Musing About?

