h1

E.o.t.T.: Deload Friday

January 20, 2012
Line art drawing of push up.

Image via Wikipedia

Okay, it’s ben a while. Please see my E.o.t.T. page for my disclaimer. Always consultant a physician before starting an exercise program and certainly avail yourself of a qualified professional to make sure you are performing the exercises correctly to avoid injury.

Warm-Up #2 (I will have to type this up later)
            include ankle stretches and ham string stretches with bands (to treat my particular injuries)

One of the other clients whom I regularly overlap with called this my “Deload Day” when my trainer called out my routine. A Deload Day is one where the routine is mostly body-weight and low weight and low repetitions following weeks of build up to a peak. Last Friday I benched 110 lbs. That is the most I have benched with a trainer. I cannot remember what I benched in my weight lifting class in college. Of course I was almost 20 years younger then…

Push Ups: 3 sets of 10

Glute-Ham Partial Raises: 3 sets of 8, no weight
           *this is an apparatus that depending on the position of the ankle braces determines how far you come up. I believe a closer position limits the range and therefore you do not come up as far. I am allowed to do these as long as my knees do not torque out of position. These strengthen the hams and glutes, as well as benefit the lower back but really suck in the belly button to support the back.

Chest Supported Rows: 2 sets of 15 with 12.5 lbs
            *with this light weight I do not have to use the weight lifting hooks to help my hands with the PA. I have discovered I can push with a bar (like benching) but grabbing and pulling puts a lot of strain on the hands–I’m not even supposed to be carrying a purse by a handle.

Back Raises: 3 sets of 12, no weight
           *this a very familiar piece of equipment; you basically brace your ankles, lay forward on the pad of which the edge is supposed to be comfortably at your lower pelvis/upper thigh, bend forward. You use more of your back and glutes with this to raise up, careful not to hyperextend. I have had a trainer in the past use this for working the obliques but this trainer feels there are other more effective exercises.

Such as…

Side Bridges: hold for 30 seconds each side, 3 times
          *I think I’ve heard these called T’s but my trainer feels it is very easy to damage the shoulder so we only do partials. With your elbow and arm positioned under your shoulder, lay on your side and then lift up your hips. I find extending the oposite arm to the ceiling helps with both balance and difficulty.

Triceps Overhead Press: 3 sets of 15, with a green band (strength?)
          *attach the green band to a stationary object at about head height; face away and put tension on the band, staggering feet; hold band in both hands, opening the band around your head; arms parallel to the floor, bent at the elbow 90 degrees; press forward straightening arms and return to 90 degrees. You can hold the sides of the band or have your hands in the center but the main thing is to concentrate on the 90 degrees and using the triceps.

Cool Down Stretches: V sits and reaches, etc. We are including ham string stretches to help my lower back.

2 comments

  1. Oh man, I CANNOT do push-ups. Modified “girly” ones, yes, but not the ones you illustrated. It’s my goal, but I’m not there yet.


    • I’d like to be running as much as you but until we get the right PA medication that is a ways off..



What Are You Musing About?

