h1

At 2:30, Tooth Hurty

January 5, 2012

So when I ran away to the Wizarding World, my tooth started hurting. I ignored it for well, 6 weeks. The dentist, who was swamped, wanted me to go to the doctor to rule out a sinus infection first. Yeah, then the gum started swelling and discoloring even though I had been on antibiotics.

It turns out that it was indeed the tooth. A tooth with a nice crown on it and I had suffered through a root canal for 5 years ago.

So I had to get it pulled. I’m a special case–I get to be hooked up to monitors because the extra epinephrine in the Novocaine shots can trigger my heart problem as we learned during my root canal.

I could still feel a great deal of pain when the dentist first attempted to assess things this afternoon so I had to get additional shots.

And honestly, I still hurt as he was yanking the tooth out. Oh, and I almost swallowed the crown when it got popped off.

So there was a huge vertical crack in the tooth and a pocket of infection. (Though the antibiotics had reduced this.)

I’m having trouble clotting and am already nauseous from my PA meds. It’s been a fun afternoon. I’m leery of taking the “happy pills” I got prescribed.

The dentist first mentioned an implant and I totally put the kibosh on that–“I have an autoimmune disease. It’s too expensive a procedure to risk infection and possible rejection (uh, like the root canal).” So I’ll be looking at a bridge later this year and just have to hope that extensive work on the two teeth that will have to support it will not cause more problems or possibly kill more teeth.

And yes, both DH and the dentist got a kick out of telling me jokes about how at 2:30, the time of my appointment, the tooth hurty. Sick men. Do they not appreciate my pain?

One comment

  1. Ugh. What a drag. I hope you’re feeling better today.



What Are You Musing About?

