h1

Romantic Christmas Songs

December 21, 2011

DH took a red-eye home on Sunday. His arrival has made this Christmas complete. For so many reasons this year is better than the last.

I’ve been wanting to write a post about romantic Christmas songs for a while now. One of the girls’ camp counselors started playing Christmas music before Halloween I believe … and it was that Bieber guy’s album. (Okay, I have no room to talk as I still have my New Kids on the Block Christmas album.) I told her to go check out a song that I would play all year; in fact it is why if you were to come to my house you’ll see a ball of mistletoe hanging over the living room doorway.

Don’t Take Down the Mistletoe by Misty River

I find the song very romantic and I remember feeling pretty proud of myself for finding out the band that DH had introduced me to had a Christmas album and I was able to get it for him and surprise him with it in 2004.

So what other Christmas songs are romantic? This is actually harder to answer than you might think. The majority of the songs that come up on a Google search are songs about an absent love and not necessarily about sharing the holiday with your love. That’s a little depressing and believe me, I’ve spent my share of Christmas Eve’s playing “I’ll Be Home for Christmas” over and over again, missing DH.

Here’s what I’ve come up with, in no particular order but I’ll start with the sad ones first.

I’ll Be Home for Christmas by various artists and White Christmas by Bing Crosby
BTW, White Christmas is one of my all time favorite romantic movies.

Merry Christmas, Darling by the Carpenters

Hey Santa by Carnie and Wendy Wilson
What I especially love about this upbeat pop song is that Santa makes the special delivery on Christmas Eve–I love happy endings!

Please Come Home for Christmas by Aaron Neville and Blue Christmas by Elvis
I’m including these two because even though these are about lost love, the sultry voices of the artists are what make them romantic classics.

A Candle in the Window by Alabama
I was trying hard to find a country song that sounded more romantic than twangy and discovered this one on several lists (and in my own play list thanks to DH). Again, it’s about keeping a candle burning in the window for the one absent but the sentiment is romantic.

Now for the happier ones….

Let It Snow by various artists
… the fire is so delightful and since we’ve no place to go… 😉

A Christmas to Remember and The Greatest Gift of All by Dolly Parton and Kenny Rogers
The first is about an accidental encounter of two people at a ski resort, sharing a romance. The second is about “knowing you’re in love with me” while sharing the Greatest Gift with all.

Santa Baby by Eartha Kitt
Okay, so this is more sex kitten than romantic but you can have fun with it, especially if you’ve no place to go… 😉 😉

Twist of the Magi by SHeDAISY featuring Rascal Flatts
This song starts out a little psycho and you find yourself wondering if this is War of the Roses or a real sick way to show love! But it is quirky enough and such a great twist on the classic tale that you end up thinking, yeah, they do love each other even if they have a funny way of showing it.

What Are You Doing New Year’s? by Harry Connick Jr.
Anything with you, Harry. –uh, did I just type that out loud? Romantic New Year’s Eve plans have never happened in our household but perhaps we’ll have to see about changing that this year.

That’s my list. Do you have any to add… besides All I Want for Christmas. I haven’t seen the new duet but from what I hear it seemed a bit creepy because of the age difference, and well it includes that Bieber guy. If you’ve got some romantic tunes you think I should check out, leave a comment!

**Update: in the car on our way home from our Christmas Eve festivities with DH’s family, a song I had forgotten about came on the country station. It Must Have Been the Mistletoe (Our First Christmas) by Barbara Mandrell is another romantic Christmas song.

6 comments

  1. Hi, nice to read about another MM wife; mine’s a tug boat captain. I am enjoying your blog.


  2. […] of mistletoe over the doorway. This remains up all year and is because the owner’s favorite Christmas song is Don’t Take Down the Mistletoe by Misty […]


  3. […] the original list, please see Romantic Christmas Songs. I still maintain “Don’t Take Down the Mistletoe” is the most […]


  4. […] educate the world about the U.S. Merchant Marine … and my most popularly viewed post is my Romantic Christmas Songs list from 2011 with 374 views! In contrast, Part 2 written last year has only had 7 […]


  5. […] I’ve said, my most popular post is Romantic Christmas Songs, posted in […]


  6. […] yes, my post on Romantic Christmas Songs is still my number 1 post of all time with 687 views. Don’t forget to check out Part 2 and my […]



What Are You Musing About?

