h1

Writing Workshop: Happy Anniversary!

December 8, 2011

4.) Blast from the Past: What were you writing about last year at this time? Tell us what has changed (if anything) since then.

I actually wanted to post about my anniversary in Blog Land. I wanted to answer this question and also thank my subscribers. Now I get to do this for Mama Kat’s. Multitasking rocks.

I started SnipeWife on Nov. 27, 2010. I’m surprised I did this considering what I was going through at the time. If it weren’t for the support and encouragement of SoccerMom and USCommonSense I’m not sure I would have. This is not to say DH is not supportive because he is; it is just a different kind of understanding and support.

To get the ball rolling I used a few reprinted postings from either FB notes or a brief attempt at an AOL social blog. I posted random things about me, our greyhound, our children. I tried to keep as anonymous as possible. To date I think only half a dozen people know I have this blog. I was actually very flattered that someone thought I was the awesome bloggess JenontheEdge when I reposted an article of hers on my FB page. I guess it because I have been known to rock the fushcia wig when I dress up as Tonks. And most have figured out T1 and T2 are females as it is so hard to keep things gender neutral all the time!

With DH’s help (see, I told you he was supportive!) I started adding my maritime links and other pages and posts that supported that one side of this blog. I see that as an ever-growing process. He has fun sending me articles that he finds interesting but I’ve only reposted a few here.

I wrote my first Writing Workshop post on Jan. 5, 2011 after seeing the link to Mama Kat’s on SoccerMom’s blog. I started seeing traffic from this wonderful way to link up with other bloggers. Life With Books has been a frequent visitor and great commenter.

I also began chronicling my health related issues on my E.o.t.T. posts and general posts about life. This is when I started getting some subscribers who like me need some motivation to stay physically active to delay the onset of diabetes. I’m trying to write up several of my workouts and post my progress. My latest health problems have been quite a struggle but I’m still going strong. One of my newest subscribers (muffinstomarathons) I have a feeling is strictly visiting for the E.o.t.T. posts, but that’s okay with me! It is another way to stay motivated.

I also attempt to write about my faith and have a few followers based on those posts. My write-ups about my summer camp lessons have popped up on internet searches. I especially liked to see that it came up for teaching children parables.

In July, Bridges Burning found my blog through Mama Kat’s and Freshly Pressed and felt I deserved a few awards. I am truly humbled and I will have to look into sharing that feeling and publicity with another new blogger in the upcoming year.

It took a while but my 10th subscriber is actually from across the pond in the UK! Thank you Stacyleanne12, who follows by e-mail. I asked for suggestions about what to do for my 10th subscriber and got no feed back so I will just give you a shout out today! Of course SoccerMom wanted to know what she got for being my first… I’ll treat you to dinner in March! Wear your green! I am actually up to 12 subscribers now. What a great way to end the year.

This blog is still just a lark. I still want to be anonymous but then again there are some dear friends who have helped me through this year, not the least of which is through my diagnosis of psoriatic arthritis, that I’d like to confide my “secret identity” to. I am enjoying a series of posts by The Gypsy Mama on the Four Helpful Social Media Laws. They’ve put things in perspective. As she posted:

What if no one reads what I write?

~Well, usually your most important reader is you.

So just write, my friend. Write to learn, write to process, write to celebrate, write to grieve, write to decipher the story of your life.

I hope I’ve gained confidence as I’ve overcome some personal obstacles. I will continue blogging. I hope I am achieving my goals of educating about the merchant marine; inspired your health journey; uplifted you spiritually; and shown that this life I live is an adventure but really it is not that different from anyone else’s, even if DH is at sea half the year.

The Prompts:

1.) Have you decorated your Christmas tree? Share a favorite Christmas ornament.
2.) What is it about that movie that makes you cry every. time?
3.) Open letter to Santa Claus.
4.) Blast from the Past: What were you writing about last year at this time? Tell us what has changed (if anything) since then.
5.) Write a poem about a snow memory.

If you want to know more about Mama Kat’s world-famous Writing Workshop, click on that trophy over there….

2 comments

  1. Hey, happy 1st blogoversary! Before you know it, you’ll be celebrating your 3rd, your 4th, your 5th… who knows how high you’ll go?! 🙂


    • Hmmm… maybe I’ll get 15 subscribers by then! LOL Thanks!!!



What Are You Musing About?

