h1

Fourth Week of Thanks

December 1, 2011

Nov. 21 Today I am thankful for Footprints. The muddy paw prints of a beloved pet all over a driveway. The tiny footprints of a newborn that seem larger than the largest feet ever, sticking firmly in your heart. The set of Footprints letting me know that I am being carried when there are times that even crawling seems impossible and lonely.

Nov. 22 I am thankful for the company of good friends for an impromptu lunch while roasting turkeys.

Nov. 23 I am thankful for music and books (borrowed from last year). I am thankful for the creative minds that capture what dreams are made of and what man struggles with… the ideas may be as old as time but the imaginings and the presentations are inventive. And some are so Every Man that we can all relate.

Nov. 24 Will wonders never cease–I think this was the first year my cinnamon rolls didn’t have an extra crispy bottom! LOL I am thankful for traditions, new and old, and sharing them with the girls and knowing D is thinking of us. I hope he has a better Thanksgiving than last year. Happy Thanksgiving to all my family and friends and God bless our military and those less fortunate.

Nov. 25 Today I am thankful to my in-laws for raising an amazing man for a son. D would give the shirt off his back for those in need. I am blessed by D’s generosity and as spoiled as the girls are, I hope we are raising them to be the same.

Nov. 26 I am thankful these 365 days are over. I know that there are things in life that shape us into the people we are–and it is our choice whether we let those things have a positive or a negative effect on our character. Here is to the next 365 days being so much better.

Nov. 27 I am thankful for the friends who were crazy enough to go out Black Friday shopping with me–it makes it feel like the Christmas season has begun even if I didn’t have any major purchases or huge deals to find. Let the Christmas music play and let the lights twinkle! You ladies are such a blessing to me! It is like night and day compared to last year… let’s never skip it again!

Nov. 28 Today I am thankful for the friends, the wives for hire and the hubbies for hire, that help me when D is at sea so that I know the girls are covered when I can’t seem to master the space-time continuum or have misplaced my Time Turner and can’t be in more than one place at a time. And I know it helps D to know we have people we can count on. Thanks gang!

Nov. 29 hmmm… either FB ate my post or I completely forgot! So I’ll make this up… I am thankful I am part of the Barbie generation that learned “Girls Can Do Anything!” (Although we did have that one Barbie that said “Math is hard!” oops!) Growing up I wasn’t really told “you’re a girl so your career choices are only x, y, and z.” Trying to help a troop of 4th & 5th graders about such gender stereotypes has been interesting. Of course there are still some stereotypes to still conquer but we have so many more opportunities. I will have to say though, even after having my career, thanks to Their Yesterdays (by Harold Bell Wright) I believe the most fulfilling roles I’ve experienced have been the traditional roles of wife and mother.

Nov. 30 I am so thankful for the friends who posted their lists, who shared their blessings. I love that someone said “Commit to doing this again next year!” The thoughts shared have been uplifting and much-needed. I can’t wait to read the lists my girls made. And I want to keep this going. I’ve been reading the classic Pollyanna and just loving the “game” she learned to play to find something positive, something to be thankful about, not matter what life hands you. And she learned that it became almost second nature to look at life that way.

Related Articles:

https://snipewife.wordpress.com/2011/11/26/why-is-it/

https://snipewife.wordpress.com/2011/11/22/third-week-of-thanks/

https://snipewife.wordpress.com/2011/11/14/second-week-of-thanks/

https://snipewife.wordpress.com/2011/11/09/first-week-of-thanks/

One comment

  1. […] Fourth Week of Thanks (snipewife.wordpress.com) […]



What Are You Musing About?

