h1

Third Week of Thanks

November 22, 2011

Nov. 14 Today I am thankful for my mother and my mother-in-law. The wisdom, advice, support, and love … and my girls have such great examples in them.

Nov. 15 I am thankful for my sister. My big little sister shows courage to keep moving on. She’s a great mom to Cousin IT and the big boys. She’s a great Auntie and the girls adore her. Much love to you, C & S.

Nov. 16 I am grateful for the rain. Water cleanses and renews. We all need a little renewing every now and then…

Nov. 17 I agree with others who have posted about being thankful for modern conveniences… like running water, heat pumps, cars, microwaves… but it is a soft life. I wonder if I would have risen to the occasion and been a person who washed laundry by hand, plucked the chicken in order to cook it (after wringing its neck), planted my own vegetables… I’m sure I would have but I am definitely thankful I live Now, rather than Then.

Nov. 18 Today I am thankful for my trainer who, though sometimes it feels like torture, has my best interests. And now he has to work even harder to help me avoid injury. There are mornings, like today, when I really don’t feel like getting out there–the knee or the ankle hurts too much–but getting out there is exactly what the knee and ankle need. We don’t know what we’re capable of till we try. I’m still in awe of the powerlifting grandma who works out next to me. I will keep going as long as I can.

Nov. 19 Today (tonight really) I am thankful my glasses… again to live in a time where my vision can be corrected, knowing that without them my world would be so blurry. How many moments of my children’s lives would I miss? (And yes, Mr. Lions Club, I have probably a dozen old pairs that need to be donated to you to give to those less fortunate… I’m just waiting for your scout program!)

Nov. 20 Today I am thankful for cell phones and that D was in range (well, at anchor, in sight of land and the call kept cutting out but at least we talked while we could) so he could sympathize with me and the fact that somewhere in this house I have misplaced my LiveScribe Pulse Pen. I only had it a few days ago and I misplaced it while cleaning. D has such a calm, unflappable voice. I am missing him, but we’re in the home stretch.

 Related articles:
https://snipewife.wordpress.com/2011/11/14/second-week-of-thanks/

https://snipewife.wordpress.com/2011/11/09/first-week-of-thanks/

One comment


What Are You Musing About?

