h1

Writing Workshop: The Bride Lives!

October 12, 2011

I’m answering early so I do not miss posting tomorrow. Plus, I’m really excited about this. I’m not a poet but I gave an acrostic a shot and I did a little rhyming. This ties into my Frankenstein collection. I’m holding my very first one. As an English major we had to take a Senior Literary Criticism class in order to graduate. I’m not sure if the teacher always picked Frankenstein by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley or not, but that was the book that year. We had to read the original and the edited version, watch Young Frankenstein and at least one other version (choices included the original and the new one (at the time) Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein (1994) and The Bride starring Sting). Then we had to apply different theories and forms of literary criticism to the work and write a thesis paper. I have collected Frankenstein monsters and the bride ever since. I proudly display them at my front door every Halloween. Please do not be too critical of my poetic attempts!

The Bride Lives! (Halloween 1995)

2.)   Write a poem about a memorable Halloween costume.

The groom had a stand-in, a little nuts

Hair sprayed black and white, standing straight up

Eye liner and painted lips, skin made paler

Black nails and combat boots, no blushing for this bride

Reason to celebrate? Halloween, of course!

Iridescent bat pin on my collar, who is her tailor?

Dreams took MW Shelley on a wild ride

Everything pays homage, Senior Lit Crit is the source. 

This Week’s Prompts

1.) A list of ten things you should never ask your spouse.
2.) Write a poem about a memorable Halloween costume.
3.) Speech!! Tell about a time you had to speak or present in front of a group of people.
4.) What was the last thing your child cried about? Write a blog post about the problem in the voice of your child.
5.) A recipe that went all kinds of wrong.

Bonus Vlog Option!
Sometimes it’s hard to put yourself out there on video, but it’s a fun and different option for a post and a great way for your readers to get to know you better. The problem is many of us don’t know what to vlog about…this bonus prompt option will give you the inspiration you need to create a short video for your blog. Now to drum up the courage…

6.) Do your kids wear helmets? Why or why not? (My example here).

If you want to know more about Mama Kat and her Writing Workshop, click on that trophy over there…

5 comments

  1. Your lit crit class sounds better than mine. We didn’t read anything fictional… just essay after essay after essay. About halfway through I was ready to shoot myself. Especially if I heard the word ‘deconstruction’ one more time.

    And I like your poem! Very cute!


  2. Great poem. I love how you began each line so it spelled The Bride 🙂


  3. I think your poem is great! Sounds like a fun assignment for your class too!


  4. […] you think really captures who you are. Oh my, I must be feeling bold. But seriously, just like my Bride picture, you can’t really tell this is me. In fact, JenontheEdge, this is the picture that […]


  5. […] I have admitted in the past that I am a collector of collections. I am not a hoarder because I can and do purge. We have lived in this house for over 9 years now. […]



What Are You Musing About?

