h1

E.o.t.T.: Return to the Wednesday Circuit

October 5, 2011

See my E.o.t.T. Disclaimer page before starting …

Over the past few weeks we have been slowly building back up my endurance and my strength. It feels so good to be able to push myself again. Keep in mind, however, that I am on a temporary steroid treatment to combat the pain I was in. Tomorrow, Oct. 6th, I hope to have results that finally give a name to my condition and treatment can be started, including being able to come off the steroids.

Warm-Up 4 (I kept saying I’d post this separately but I guess I never did…)
      hip hop ups, both legs (10), single leg (10 each)
      side leg lifts (because my knees cannot handle kneeling on them at the moment): lay on one side and lift the top leg up with the foot flexed and pointing down as much as possible, both sides (10)
      knee to armpit: lay face down with arms spread, draw up knee to armpit, return, alternate sides (10)
      prone dumbbell retraction: 15 lbs., face down on an inclined bench, let arms hang and then draw shoulders up (12-15 reps)
      prone Ys: 5 or 8 lbs., face down on an inclined bench, let arms hang then draw up shoulders and then raise the arms out to form the Y, making sure the arms go up high enough almost inline with the incline of the bench (12-15 reps)
       prone internal shoulder rotations: 5 pounds, lay flat face down, arms out to the side, elbows bent 90 degrees, rotate the arms/shoulders back keeping the arms bent at 90 degrees (12-15 reps)
       bar shoulder separations: take broom stick and move it from in front of you over your head to behind you (20 reps)

This was not timed. My Trainer just want to see how many sets I could make it through. My first week back I did three sets, 4 last week, and today I powered through 5.

Static Wall Holds: lean up against a wall and sit down, keep legs wide and keep back flat against the wall; 1 minute for every set

Overhead dumbbell shoulder press: 15 lbs., press dumbbells up over head, return to top of shoulders, elbows out in front of you; 20, 15, 12, 12, 12

Hip hop ups: with a 35 lb. plate on abs; lift hips as high as possible, keeping shoulders on the ground to protect neck and squeeze butt; 20, 15, 12, 12, 12

Band assisted pull-ups: stand on one of the big green rubber bands; 20, 15, 12, 12, 12

Kettlebell swing-thrus: 25 lbs.; stand with feet just a little wider than shoulder-width; grasp kettlebell with both hands; swing the kettlebell between legs, keeping back straight (not curved) pivoting at hips–this is not a squat but knees do bend a little; raise arms and kettlebell to just about shoulder height, and let gravity pull kettlebell back through legs; 15, 15, 15, 15, 15

Medicine ball smash downs: 25 lbs. (?); stand on toes with medicine ball overhead; smash to the ground, following the ball into a half-squat; 10, 10, 10, 10, 10

Rest 2 minutes between sets (though I got 2:30 between 3 & 4, and 3 minutes before starting 5).

 

One comment

  1. Today’s substitution: my trainer had be doing Mountain climbers for 20 seconds instead of the medicina ball smash downs. It is a steady pace, trying to be light on the toes. I think I counted being able to switch legs about 30 times in the 20 second intervals.



What Are You Musing About?

