h1

Fall & Halloween

October 3, 2011

I just love this time of year. More so when summer lingers during the days and the nights are only slightly colder. It looks like it will be an early cold season though and it is really wet. I guess the weather cannot be perfect every year.

I adore Halloween. It is one of my three holidays (a holiday that I can do whatever I want without being obligated to be with either family). From the moment I could buy “Baby’s First Halloween” onesies I have been instilling this love of Halloween in the children. I’d decorate and decorate after doing Fall Cleaning. Many of my decorations stay up through Thanksgiving. I’ve often said I’d like to own a B-n-B and have seasonally decorated rooms all year-long.

On Halloween the children would get books and t-shirts. I guess when they were a little older I had the thought, “What good is it to get a Halloween t-shirt on Halloween? It would be a little silly to be wearing that in November or December.” So I have started the tradition that on October 1st, in order to get in the mood, we crank up the Halloween music, get out the decorations, and the children get t-shirts, books, and hair accessories.

Every year we talk about why I like to celebrate the holiday, why some Christians object, and what I hope the children take away from it. If you want to know, I celebrate it as welcoming the fall season that God has created. What do vampires, skeletons, and witches have to do with that? As I told my children, originally there were non-Christian ties to these celebrations but I see the costumes and the trick-or-treating two ways–fall is a reminder to slow down, enjoy the harvest of God’s bounty, have child-like innocence, and get ready for the winter; and what better way to conquer things that may scare us then by making them playful.

I also tell the children that others cannot see separation from the holiday’s roots and therefore to them it is not good to celebrate. To each his own.

I just loved the sound of my children stating over and over again on the 1st how much they love Halloween. They love that we go away with my in-laws to a resort and an amusement park. Because it is not a “sentimental” holiday, DH indulges me and we’ve never had the awkwardness of missing him on the actual holiday (think Thanksgiving or Christmas). He has three t-shirts himself: “Dad Gone Mad”, This is my costume, and Budget Ninja Costume. I think he likes going through haunted houses with me because I scream like such a girl. Funny thing is I love haunted houses but really do not care for horror movies. Go figure.

4 comments

  1. […] Fall & Halloween (snipewife.wordpress.com) GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "333333"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "df5f16"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "1b7e21"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "df5f16"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "books"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "entertainment"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "cooking"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "crafting"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "holiday-2"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "home-decor"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "decorating"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "felt"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "halloween"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "home"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "jack-o-lantern"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "pumpkin"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "sewing"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]


  2. I am a big fan of Halloween (and the whole month of October) as well. Great post!


  3. Halloween ROCKS!!!!!!!!! 🙂


  4. […] Fall & Halloween (snipewife.wordpress.com) […]



What Are You Musing About?

