h1

Writing Workshop: Hoarding School (HAHA)

September 8, 2011

I’m going to tackle two prompts today because the answers are short and sweet.

2.) If you were a hoarder, based on your personality…what would you hoard? (better yet, ask someone who knows you well, what they think you would hoard).

I’ve been described as a “Collector of Collections” so I would only hoard things that I could call a collection. Like my collection of dolls, unicorns, the fairies that hang from my drop ceiling that I add to every year when the Christmas ornaments come out, Barbies–especially the vintage ornament series (I have everyone from the beginning in 93!), books, hurricane glasses and souvenir glasses, Halloween decorations, photos (I have 25,000 of them on my computer!), Star Wars ornaments (I really should consider stock in Hallmark) that sit in front of my Star Wars books, Disney and souvenir pins… You get the point. I wouldn’t hoard weird things like rubber bands and lint balls. T1 and T2 have collections each their own and I feed this habit vicariously.

(9/14/11) I was totally not thinking when I cheated and took the short way out on this Writing Workshop. I also collect Pineapples and Frankensteins. I will write much longer posts on these in the future.

3.) First day of school pictures…let’s have’em!

Cassie "walks" T2 to the bus stop at the end of the driveway.

In all the excitement of getting T1 out the door for her first day of middle school, sweet Cassie let us know she wanted to be part of the action. T2 got the privilege of “walking” her up the driveway to the street where the bus stop has been relocated. Made for a very bittersweet morning. T1 in middle school, T2 the big 4th grader going to school on her own, and Cassie taking one last bus stop walk.

The Prompts:

1.) Write about a time you shoved someone.
2.) If you were a hoarder, based on your personality…what would you hoard? (better yet, ask someone who knows you well, what they think you would hoard).
3.) First day of school pictures…let’s have’em!
4.) 911 memories.
5.) Your summer recap in a poem and pictures.

If you want to know more about Mama Kat’s Writing Workshop, click on the trophy over there…

6 comments

  1. I enjoyed reading about your collections. I collect angels. 🙂

    I’m visiting from Mama Kat’s site. I hope that you have a great weekend!


    • Suzanne–Thanks for stopping by. I visited you but for some reason Blogspot never lets me leave a reply. 😦 I agree with blank journals–I have those too. But I also have a new toy called a PULSE pen by LiveScribe that takes it to a whole new level! LOL And I agree that it is hard to part with a magazine bought for a purpose.


  2. Thanks for coming by Grams Made It. I’m Vicki and I’m a Christmas ornaments junkie. I have all but 3 or 4 of the Hallmark Nostalgic Houses and Shops (there are more than 25 years) and I keep them on display all the time. Oddly, they’ve never been on my Christmas tree. I also collected ornaments, many of them from Hallmark, for each of my kids. There is one for every year of their lives starting with “Baby’s 1st Christmas” all the way up to their “Our First Christmas Together.” I gift-wrapped their collections and gave them to them at their bridal showers. It was so special. My daughter-in-law was so touched she cried. Even after giving them more than 25 ornaments each, I still have way too many. I’m trying to stop buying more, but they’re so beautiful.

    I don’t miss those bittersweet first days of school.


    • I’ve been putting aside ornaments for T1 & T2 as well. I like the idea of giving them over to them for their weddings! Thanks for stopping by!


  3. Do I spy a Greyhound? Love the back to school photo. 🙂


    • Yes, Mama Kat, that was our beloved greyhound Cassiopeia Lexi Osceola XITE. She really wanted to be part of all the excitement that morning. She passed away the next day from osteocarcinoma (you can’t tell in the picture but the far hind leg was hanging limp). This will always be a special back to school picture. Thanks for stopping by!



What Are You Musing About?

