h1

Writing Workshop: Hodge Podge

June 30, 2011

1.) Describe a memorable first date. I did not have too many dates prior to DH. I already wrote about our first date in I’ll Never Forget.

2.) Write about a child you find inspiring. T1 & T2 are my inspirations. I didn’t know what being a mom would be like; I certainly wasn’t sure I could handle a mother-daughter relationship (that is so loaded but I will probably never blog about it). God gave me what I needed, not necessarily what I wanted, when He gave us T1 & T2. I want to teach my children to be independent and strong and able to care for themselves. I want to teach them to be confident and to love themselves without being prideful. I want to be the mother they need me to be so that they can be all that they have the potential for being.

 3.) What do you find most challenging about blogging? When you want to be anonymous you do have to be careful about what details you give without “vagueblogging.” For example, although I did not want to mention the gender of our children, it has been impossible to keep the pronouns gender neutral. I also do not want to use this as a forum for, well, see number 4. I know that one day I will not be anonymous and I need to be accountable for what I say on here. **PAUSE**

DH is reading over my shoulder as I type this. This is most challenging.

**PLAY** Having DH read everything I post is keeping me in line and keeps me from posting about our “dirty laundry.” And trying to find new maritime related information to keep the blog relevant to my secondary purpose.

 4.) Name a pet peeve you have about how other parents raise their kids. Go on…stir the pot. I really don’t want to touch this with a 10-foot pole. Once you hit send or post, it is forever in the Internet. And it will come back to haunt you.

5.) We often spend time and energy talking about people in our lives we don’t see enough of. Describe a person in your life you are in contact with often. What does he/she mean to you? I’m not sure who I’d pick for this. I don’t see enough of DH at times; at others, we spend 24-7 together. And too much togetherness is not always a good thing. Currently, it is summer and I haven’t had contact with too many people because soccer, scouts, and school are all out for the time being. My usual ladies are busy with their summers too.

Bonus Vlog Option!
6.) If you could thank your mom for anything, what would it be? Create a video thanking her for something. I guess right now I’d want to thank my mother for crying with me when I called to tell her about Cassie. I do feel silly for crying so much–she is a dog, it’s not like a friend or loved one had been diagnosed with cancer. But she understood… and she loves Cassie too. Pets get into our hearts. They give us so much comfort and joy, that when you get bad news before it is their time, it hurts.

If you want to know more about Mama Kat’s Writing Workshop, click on that trophy in the red box over there…

7 comments

  1. Interesting way of tackling the wroting prompts, but you may have been cheating a bit, lol.


    • I would have done the first date… but I had already done that. If I had reposted, now that would have been cheating. The longer this week has gone on, the more of a “mood” I’m in so I guess that’s the lack-luster effort there. Thanks for stopping by!


  2. Sorry for my comment, i was literally half asleep when I wrote that! I’m disabled. My meds were making me so sleepy but I kept trying to press onward! I hope you will come by my blog. I was lucky, in over three years blogging I had never told my readers how my husband and I met!

    I’ve been really pushing myself lately and am paying the consequences. Kind of like when you’ve had too much to drink, but you still have to go to work, except I am mostly homebound/bedbound. It doesn’t take much to get me sick!


    • No offense taken! I agree and I get the LOL. Sorry you are not feeling well. I’ll check out your blog more when I get back!


  3. I’m “semi-anonymous” I think … but it is very hard to keep it totally anonymous. Details always seep through in some ways. My main thing is that my husband said I’m not allowed to post photos of our son that shows his face. He read more than one incident of photos being lifted from blogs and used for nefarious purposes.


  4. This was great! And I’m so sorry about your dog! Animals are like children for us in a lot of ways and I think crying for a loss like that is totally acceptable and expected! 😦


    • Wow! Thank you for taking the time to visit my little ol’ blog! And thank you for the kind thoughts about our beautiful greyhound. Most of the crying is done; we’re just enjoying every moment we have left with her.



What Are You Musing About?

