h1

E.o.t.T.: Sidelined

May 31, 2011

I really dislike not having definitive answers. The x-ray showed nothing noticeable with the bones of my foot so they are ruling out dislocation and major fracture. I am assuming because they did not mention arthritis, etc., they are also ruling out gout and arthritis. At this point they are calling it a “soft tissue” problem.

I am not allowed to do impact exercises for 2-4 weeks. This includes the running, pushing the prowler sled, and lunges. If I don’t take it easy and let the foot heal, I could end up in a cast for 4-6 weeks to force me to let it heal.

I am supposed to continue with ibuprofen, ice it for 20 minutes several times a day, and of course avoid the impact exercises.

I am not going to be allowed to cheat on the Torturer’s diet at all over the next few weeks. This had to come at a time where I just put back on the 4 pounds I lost. Great.

And on another note… this personally worries me. I had a doctor who developed soft tissue cancer while I was pregnant with T2. I was told if the pain doesn’t get better in two weeks to call a orthopedist to get an evaluation and possibly an MRI to look for a hidden stress fracture.

As much as I complain about torture and the running… I’d really rather be doing it than sidelined and stressed. 😦

4 comments

  1. oh no!!
    I hurt my left knee a week and a half ago and my workouts/running have been sidelined until my physiotherapist can see it tomorrow…
    It’s driving me nuts not being able to work out…
    I hope you feel better soon!!


    • I’m just frustrated ebcause I won’t be able to do that new 10 minute workout–who wouldn’t want to be done in 10 minutes? I guess I’ll be on the elyptical machines for the next month and I’ll have to go twice as long. The rest of the weight lifting should be okay but I’ll be back to square 1 on the running once I get the go ahead to try again. I could also justify cheating on the diet because I was at a platuea–there is no way I’ll maintain if I can’t get good cardio in.

      Hope your knee feels better! I’ve hurt my knee before–got bursitis from not doing lunges correctly in a Jazzercise class. (I’m secretly glad I was told no lunges for the next few weeks, though!)


      • oh Jazzercise. Totally forgot about those classes…
        I’m onto Turbofire now and LOVING it.
        I had my first PT session yesterday for the knee.. messed up IT band and my Quad isn’t working properly at the kneecap.
        Lovely.
        She massaged me (that’s using the term lightly, as she was barely pressing) for 10 minutes and I thought I was going to DIE.
        Hopefully better soon!!!


  2. […] E.o.t.T.: Sidelined (snipewife.wordpress.com) […]



What Are You Musing About?

