h1

Memorial Day

May 29, 2011

I am thankful to all those who gave their lives in service to our country to preserve our freedoms. Let us never make their sacrifices be in vain.

I had the pleasure of being at the World War II Memorial on its opening day, with my mother, T1 & T2. To be surrounded by veterans of that great struggle was very moving. T1 & T2 were too young to understand. My mother just wanted to hug all those men, to thank them for their service because her father is no longer with us for us to thank him.

I had the chance to meet the man responsible for ensuring the Merchant Marine emblem was placed on the monument. I had my picture taken with him but I do not know his name. At the opening ceremonies the Merchant Marine was included.

The following is a link to an organization attempting to get all living veterans of the war to the Memorial–to see how their nation honors them. Time is running out. http://media.causes.com/1060527?p_id=17

Enjoy your Memorial Day festivities safely! And don’t forget the sunscreen!

What Are You Musing About?

