h1

Personal: John 14:1-4

April 24, 2011

My thoughts here are for my edification. I have definite opinions that are, for lack of better terms, of a conservative bent and will most likely offend on some level readers of this blog. My intent is not to offend. Nor is it to open up to debate my personal beliefs. If my beliefs cannot be respected, please do not continue reading this post and come back on another day.

Every Sunday we celebrate/commemorate/memorialize the death, burial, and resurrection of Christ and we partake in the communion of the bread and fruit of the vine. Still, Easter is a bit special–at least this year it is. I want T1 and T2 to really think about the importance if this day because they felt so strongly the need to be baptized this year.

Normally because Easter is one of the three holidays I am not obligated to be with the family and can celebrate it however I want (the others being 4th of July and Halloween) I pack up the children for some quality alone time. This usually includes a “homecoming” of sorts at the congregation I attended in college, complete with delicious food and egg hunt for the children. This year due to a recent operation my mother needs me, needs to see the children. So we are bringing Easter to her.

I wanted to post about what the death, burial, and resurrection of Christ means to me. When I partake of the communion I always pray that I hope DH feels the communion of saints gathered on the Lord’s Day even though he is at sea. Hope seems to be a recurring thought as I contemplate writing this. Even the minister’s sermon will be on the Hope of the Resurrection and a new 6-week study is starting on the topic.

When I struggled after T2’s birth I was told by a lifesaving friend to find a verse in the Bible that speaks to be and hold on to it with all my being. I found John 14:1. The entire chapter is so uplifting and is a favorite of many.

Let not your hearts be troubled; believe in God, believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And when I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. And you know the way where I am going.

And he made all this happen by submitting to the will of the Father and dying on a cross for all. He prepared a place for us and purchased it with his blood and he freely gives us the keys to the kingdom–we just have to be obedient and accept the grace and mercy our just God gives.

What wonderful hope that should give us all. He paid a debt he did not owe and I owed a debt I could not pay. Amazing grace, how sweet the sound! One day he is coming and he will take us with him!

What Are You Musing About?

