h1

Writer’s Workshop: Special Delivery

February 9, 2011

4.) Share a photo that captures special Valentine(s).

The first glimpse of one of the loves of my life (2/11/00).

At 19 weeks with my first pregnancy, in January, I had my first episode of supraventricular tachycardia (SVT) that lasted over 2 hours and I had to be chemically defibrillated. I’m glad they told me not to look at the monitor–I’m not sure how I would have reacted to seeing myself flatline for 15 seconds. DH was coming home the next day so we didn’t tell him until he was home and I had to explain why I didn’t meet him at the airport (bed rest).

My 20 week ultrasound was scheduled for the first week of February but a snow storm left us having to reschedule. On the day of the first appointment I tried and tried to get through by phone to see if the appointment was canceled. I even kept myself from not going to the bathroom. We drove over there to discover the place was closed. Seriously? The roads were not that bad. And couldn’t they have had a nurse or an automated system call patients to notify them appointments were canceled–or get that on the phone message instead of “Mailbox Full”?

The first available appointment was two weeks later so I was closer to almost 23 weeks. I had to know the gender but DH did not want to know. I was only able to keep it a secret for about 12 hours.

My MIL was going to have major surgery on Valentine’s. She is an organ donor. She went with me to my next appointment to hear the news from my OB. She wanted to know that everything with my heart was okay and that her next grandchild was doing fine.

The organ recipient was a very close family friend. We visited her in recovery. She squeezed my hand and asked, “Now that I have (a piece of MIL) can I be the baby’s grandmother too?” Absolutely. Extra grandmothers for spoiling babies is always a plus. At my baby shower she was given a special seat along with my mother, MIL, and DH’s grandmother.

Writing Prompts:

1.) A lecture you still remember.
2.) You know you’re a rookie mom when you…
3.)  A poem for your special Valentine.
4.) Share a photo that captures special Valentine(s).
5.) Read the following quote and respond: “Sometimes you have to break the rules around you to keep the rules within you” -Martha Beck O Magazine

If you want more information on Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop, click on the pink poodle over there…

One comment

  1. […] In my post Special Delivery I told that I had my very first episode while 19 weeks pregnant with T1. See here for more… https://snipewife.wordpress.com/2011/02/09/writers-workshop-special-delivery/ […]



What Are You Musing About?

