h1

Writer’s Prompt: Happy Hippo!

February 3, 2011

3. Describe the last thing that made you laugh really hard.
I actually had to think really hard about this. I have some incredibly funny friends and the shared moments of laughter over the everyday frustrations and joys of motherhood and being wives have caused some side-splitting moments. I just wish I had those evidence pictures of the “8 women in a tub” to share.

DH is a very funny man. Just look at his recent “Pirates” pictures he sent out to family and friends.

T2 has had some hysterical moments, saying some of the most outrageous things at the most outrageous moments. We’re working on the internal censor as we all know that may become a liability in the future.

But the most recent thing that made me laugh hard? It involved Cousin IT and a pink hippopotamus. Cousin IT has reached that age that I adore. Well, maybe not adore but at least I actually start to like babies at this age. Mobile, communicative, self-entertaining. All good things.

The children and I stopped in for a visit because for once we were actually up their way. Cousin IT got a pop up play tent for Christmas in the shape of a pink hippo. Pop up tents have come a long way since T1 and T2 played in one. During the evening I fondly remembered my mother climbing into ours with at least T1. Perhaps a barely crawling T2 squeezed in there too. But this pink hippo could hold an army! T1 and T2 crawled in and Cousin IT would go in after them. Every time we’d pull the camera out for a picture IT would crawl back out and get right up into the camera lens. It was all very entertaining.

At the close of the evening, I decided to climb in myself. Climb is not really the right word. Crawl, contort, bend, cause general aches and pains and pray that I can get back up—much better modifiers. T1 crawled in and lay down behind me (told you this thing is huge). Cousin IT came to the opening a few times wondering what his crazy Auntie was doing.

The tent has a slanted opening with a flat bottom. A roll down top forms the hippo’s mouth. Cousin IT for whatever reason got his hand under the flat bottom and began lifting it up to close us in! I then tickled his little hand through the nylon. At first he was confused by this and almost snatched his hand away. I tickled again and he grinned. You could see the workings of his mind in his bright blue eyes and impish grin. If one hand is good then two must be better!

He lifted the flat bottom again and held it in front of himself with both hands. I tickled. The peels of giggles that ensued were joyous! His little mind kept working. His mom kept taking pictures (at first, just the sight of me in the tent was hysterical enough for her!). Cousin IT wanted to see us while this mysterious hand tickling was going on. So he lifted the flat bottom again and this time put the hard edge inside his mouth, bit down and held it in place so he could push his hands against the nylon and against my tickling fingers. Of course every time he laughed the flat bottom would fall out of his mouth and we’d start all over again.

It was hilarious. It was joyous. It was fun. No worries in the world for about 15 minutes. ::sigh::

Writer’s Workshop Prompts

1.)   Prenuptial Agreement…Yay or Nay? Explain.
2.) You’re not always right…no you’re not…no you’re not…no you’re not….tell us about a time you were wrong.
3.) Describe the last thing that made you laugh really hard.
4.) A letter to your future teen.
5.) Valentine’s Day is coming…share a favorite Valentine’s tradition

If you want to know more about the Writer’s Workshop, click on the pink poodle over there…

6 comments

  1. I would like to see one of these pictures of you in a hippopotamus!


    • Me too! My sister is notorious for not getting me her pictures. I only have from my POV.


  2. Visiting from Mama Kat’s and really enjoyed my vist!


  3. Found you from Mama Kat’s site! Your description of trying to crawl in the tent is hilarious! I’d magine my efforts to get into a kid’s tent would be downright heinous!
    Thanks for the laugh!


  4. hmmm… 25 visits all linked from a Malaysian website… how do you know it real traffic and what isn’t?


  5. […] into the pop up Hippo tent and began a game with him and the opening of the tent I have never laughed so hard. DH arrived just in time to 1. celebrate his father’s 70th birthday on the day of the […]



What Are You Musing About?

