h1

Writing Workshop: Validated

January 13, 2011

Validated. I told you so. I was right. That’s such a mixed bag. There have been times when I’ve been right but I would have given anything not to have been. Those are the times that stand out. There is no joy in being right in these cases; it is bitter-sweet. What happens if it is also a case of two wrongs do not make a right?

Wow. That’s a pretty melancholy answer. I am trying to become more positive. So here is a funny validation:

                I have a pair of shoes that I love. I think the tag calls them K9s. Sneakers that have a neon paint splatter pattern. A 80s throwback to my childhood. I’d have worn them then and I’ll wear them now, with my Wonder Woman and Rainbow Bright tees. Normally I only dress like this for workouts. I do wear these to the children’s school if I’m going to the gym after or if it is a Friday. I’ve also been dressing a little like this because I’ve been toning up with the personal trainer.

Don’t worry. I’m not going to suddenly start wearing super minis and bare midriffs—I’m not that tone and I do realize my age. Though on an aside note I think I upset the camp councilor this summer who thought he had the market cornered on superhero tees for him and his fiancé and here I come down the hill wearing my SuperGirl shirt. I must admit, it was fun messing with his mind. But I digress…

So I was volunteering at school picture day. Keep in mind T1 has previously said my K9s were cool. T1’s class comes into the cafeteria for lunch. I’m wearing the K9s with jeans and the school t-shirt, not a superhero tee. T1 looked down at my feet and then looked up at me and said in a horrified whispered, “Mom! You didn’t wear those shoes here!” Just then the class started filing by, not having heard T1. I started to get hugs and hi-5s and “Cool shoes, T1’s Mom!” I looked at T1 and “See? They’re cool. You’re friends said so!” Later I told DH that I have officially become the geeky embarrassing mother—“I have successfully embarrassed my child for the first time and the friends thought I was cool. Ha!” Score one for Mom and her K9s!

The Prompts:

1.) Scarred.
2.) The last time my heart melted was because…
3.) A moment you truly felt relieved.
4.) A list of 20 ideas to make this your best year yet.
5.) I told you so! Write about a time you felt validated.

4 comments

  1. Now that is validation! Love the story!

    Stopping by from Mama Kat’s.


  2. That is awesome!

    And I say embarrass away. Kids need to learn that pay back is a b*tch. 😉

    Stopped by from Mama Kat’s


  3. Love it and love how you dress! Wonder when I will embarrass my child for the first time. He’s only four.


    • I used to go into the school like that all the time. Now that I’m a sub I can’t–at least when I’m working. T1 was in 4th grade when this happened. It was a wonderful day!



What Are You Musing About?

