h1

Writing Workshop 1: Roller Coaster Redirection

January 5, 2011

I think I’m going to answer both 1 & 2.

1. 2010 was a roller coaster. Highs. Lows. Much a blur. The snow storms at the beginning of the year could be equated to waiting in line. And waiting. Even the time you end up sitting on the ride in the station–happy to be on the ride but can’t wait to launch. At the end of the year I couldn’t wait to get off the ride.

For 2011 I think I’d like it to be about redirection. Where do I see myself? Do I want to substitute more? Will that take me farther away from the friends I have now and possibly create new connections with the teachers? T1 is going to have a milestone–starting Junior High. T2 just can’t be content and has to follow T1 very quickly. Our parent-child relationships will change. Will we grow closer?

DH and I will be celebrating 15 years in a few short days. I joke and say we’ve only lived together half that time–that’s why it works! DH is not necessarily in the end stages of his career but we have to plan, we have to think about changes to come–college right at the time he may retire. What will this mean for us? I want to be practical, but I want to enjoy the remainder of his career and the time the four of us have (he does not work when not sailing so the time has a quality to it that we’ll lose if he took a desk job); especially as T1 and T2 become more and more independent.

2. New Year’s Eve was unexpected and simplified. It had such a slow and leisurely pace about it. It had a purpose though–the children and I stepped out of our comfort zone and accepted the invitation of friends and spent an enjoyable evening with them. I know that right now my gut instinct is to say “No” to many commitments and responsibilities but this NYE seemed more about saying “Yes” to simple pleasures. We did something as a family that was new to us and it was good.

We’re still going to have our activities but I have said “No” to several leadership positions, cut back on obligations, and will enjoy being a parent watching rather than leading. It will be good for T1 and T2 to have me step back. I think that God is gently repeating what He told me during the snowstorms and during summer camp: “Be still and know that I am God” Psalm 46:10. Appreciate and savor the little things. Stepping out of the comfort zone and trying something new doesn’t have to be something big and extravagant–it can be something as simple as trying cheese fondu together with new friends for the first time while waiting for the ball to drop.

I believe this will make our times with DH that much sweeter. I know I’ll be happier.

The Prompts:

1.) Choose a word that encompasses 2010 and describe why. What word will you choose as your theme for 2011?
2.) If the way you spent your New Year’s Eve is any indication of how the rest of the year will go, how would you say your future is looking right about now?
3.) Drunk.
4.) What happened in 2010 that you’d rather not repeat?
5.) Read and Respond: “If you want to make your dreams come true, the first thing you have to do is wake up.”  ~J.M. Power

Click on the Pink Poodle over there if you’d like more about the Writing Workshop Prompts by Mama Kat.

2 comments

  1. 2010 was definitely a roller coaster year! I like the idea of re-directing your life this 2011. I wish you all the best on your efforts… 🙂
    Stopped by from MamaKat’s Writers Workshop to read your selection, say hello and wish you a very happy 2011! 🙂
    Best,
    Elizabeth


  2. […] wrote my first Writing Workshop post on Jan. 5, 2011 after seeing the link to Mama Kat’s on SoccerMom’s blog. I started seeing traffic from […]



What Are You Musing About?

