h1

Good-Bye 2010, Hello 2011

December 30, 2010

New Year’s Resolutions in no particular order…

Let’s see, I lost 10 pounds in 2010. Maybe I’ll lose 11 pounds in 2011.

I am going to start weeding out deadwood. This will be hard but I’ve decided to become more discerning with my time and energies. Yet I hate this—I feel so jaded, so pessimistic. DH says I work myself up sometimes, expecting the worst out of people in certain situations. I tell him that on first and second encounters I do not. It is only after repeated burnings that I DO expect the worst so that I am prepared for all eventualities and if in the end my expectations are not met then I am pleasantly surprised; my “worry for nothing” harms no one (maybe annoys him but doesn’t harm him) and protects me if I’m right. Sadly though, this weeding is more about a reaction to the brutality of others in general. I just do not want to care anymore about people who are just not worth it.

Spend more time writing—either this blog, my journal, or for creative purposes. Interestingly, WordPress has issued a blog a day/week challenge but I’m slow to commit. Seriously, how long did it take me to actually start this blog and I’m having a hard time letting anyone know about it? I’m going to be using the weekly writing workshop prompts from Mama Kat so I think that’s about all the commitment I can muster right now.

Spend less time on FB. If I’ve done sufficient enough weeding, this shouldn’t be a problem.

Listen to more gospel and contemporary Christian music. Garbage in, garbage out, right? Maybe I need to be thinking about what is going in. Oh, I won’t be able to give up some of the guilty pleasures I read, but maybe some uplifting music will be better than the garbage I’m hearing on the radio. I can’t even bring myself to listen to it with T1 and T2 around—so why should I be listening to it at all?

Always make sure DH knows how much I appreciate him and that I support him, no matter what. I also need to make sure T1 and T2 make the most of their time with DH, to not take him for granted, and to really understand the sacrifice DH is willing to make for us, so that we have all the nice things and extras.

I want to spend 2011 looking at each of the Fruits of the Spirit and see what I can do about making them grow in my life and in the lives of my children. My tree branches feel pretty bare.

As for my festive plans… well, I was planning on a quiet evening with T1 and T2 and Cassie but I accepted an invitation to dinner and games. Every ounce of my being wanted to decline but I have learned if you say “No” too many times, the invitations stop coming. My parents were and still are relative homebodies. T1 and T2 while busy in their activities do not have a roaring social lives (yet) and most “playdates” are actually babysitting in disguise. This will be good for all of us and I’m fond of the family who invited us.

I am hosting New Year’s dinner the following day for DH’s family as it is their turn. I offered to host and cook because they have hosted too many times to count and just took T1, T2 and I on a trip. My sister, BIL and Cousin IT are traveling my way for a party and staying over so I invited them to join us for the meal as well. The house won’t be spotless and I’m thankful the ham is precooked but it will be okay. Besides, it gives me a chance to use my china which has only been used ONCE!

And when the day is done, it is one more day closer to DH getting home.

What Are You Musing About?

