h1

Life is Short

December 13, 2010

We are not guaranteed tomorrow. Our spouses, our children are not guaranteed tomorrow. A young wife in her 20s dies suddenly of an undiagnosed aneurism. A young woman dies in her sleep while visiting family–only 28, leaving behind a 28-year-old husband and three children under the age of 10. A young man in his 30s dies suddenly, in front of his three children and wife while on a family trip to get ice cream. All younger than me and DH.

Early on me and DH made it a point to just say “See you later” when he ships out, not willing to say Good bye. Every phone call is filled with “I love you” and “I miss you”. DH tells the children every chance he gets–even if they don’t want to get on the phone with him.

Life is too short to be squandered in bitterness, envy, hatred, and filled by hurting others. Yet those bitter and vile people are out there and their words and actions hurt, whether we want them to or not. I guess it is up to us how we choose to ultimately respond and time will help heal the hurt if we let it. Have pity on those poor, miserable souls. Shake your head at the sadness that is their lives.

And then kiss your spouse and hug your children. Send a text message with “I luv u” just because. Value each and every day. Rise above the hurtful actions of others, even when they make you weep. Life is too short to waste precious tears better shed for those who have truly lost and mourn.

I love you, DH, T1 and T2. I hope to be around to see my children grown. But just in case, I will do everything to make sure you know how much I love each of you and how very thankful and blessed I am to have you.

What Are You Musing About?

