h1

A Month of Thanksgiving

December 1, 2010
  1. It’s November 1st. Last year someone on FB issued a challenge of sorts to post what you are thankful for every day between now and Thanksgiving. I’ve been really looking forward to this. Today I am thankful for my God and Lord and the grace and mercy He has shown me.
  2. Today I am thankful for our Founding Fathers. We’re going to see Thomas Jefferson this morning and I think T1 & T2 will really enjoy it and learn from it.
  3. Today I am thankful for T1 & T2. They are a lesson in God will give you what you need. I can’t imagine a single day without them and it’s a privilege and blessing to be able to raise them.
  4. Today I’m thankful that on Nov. 4, 1994 the most amazing man in the world asked me to marry him. And I said yes! Song of Songs 7:10.
  5. Today I am thankful for my scrapbooking pals. You are a wonderful group of ladies! The stories shared that always start with “I remember when this picture was taken” are priceless.
  6. I don’t say it often, but I am thankful for my mother who is there when I truly need her.
  7. Today I am thankful for this Lord’s Day. We’re taking Cousin IT with us and my mom. It should be fun!
  8. I am thankful for my torture sessions. Not only are they helping get me healthier, they actually provide some stress relief. In a weird sort of way it’s my “Me” time. The Torturer is an amazing trainer, friends. Also, torture makes me appreciate the amazing way God created our bodies—watching a grandma next to me power lift for a hobby is inspiring!
  9. Today I am thankful for A and all the help she has given me running the school store. I couldn’t do it without you!
  10. I am thankful for the some that gave all and the all that give/gave some so that I and my family are free.
  11. Happy Veteran’s Day! Thank you to all who have and are serving and their families!
  12. Today I am thankful for the babysitters, all so that I could clean, shop, go to meetings, torture, out with friends. I am thankful for friends who have all taken them for “play dates” when it was really babysitting. Thank you ladies, and DH would agree, you’ve made life easier for me!
  13. Sounds crazy, but today I am thankful for webcams. I’m up at 7 on a Saturday to watch DH go through the Panama Canal. We’ll miss his exit due to a GS trip. But I must admit, whatever happened to Loose Lips Sink Ships? Kind of uncomfortable that I can give everyone a website and we can all track his ship.
  14. Today, I am thankful for quiet Sunday afternoon naps. And the fact that the girls are finally old enough to understand if they wake up Momma, ain’t no one going to be happy!
  15. Today I am thankful for my sister and all the women who have become my sisters: D, T, B, Y. Thank you!
  16. Today I am thankful for the rain. It’s been such a beautiful fall and I love all the leaves and colors. Today is a fall day, rain and all. God’s creation is beautiful!
  17. Today I am thankful for a house and roof that keeps us warm and dry during storms like the one we had last night.
  18. Today I am thankful for DH and that he works so hard that the children and I are taken care of, and that he is willing to make that sacrifice. As much as I hated inconveniencing the school, at least I didn’t have to worry about finding a sitter or losing a days’ pay because of a sick child. My heart goes out to single hard-working mothers who don’t have the choices and peace of mind I do.
  19. Today I am thankful for music and books. 🙂
  20. Today I am thankful for the sunshine. I just love fall. It really is my favorite time of year. Okay, I’ll say the same thing in spring, but you get the point—not too hot, not too cold. 🙂
  21. Today I am thankful for God’s written Word. It never ceases to amaze me, comfort me, chastise me, uplift me, humble me, and deliver me.
  22. Today I am thankful for being able to start fresh each day. I really hope today is a better day.
  23. I am thankful T1 doesn’t have a fever and can go to school today. Apparently, neither do I. Just someone standing on my head and squeezing. And ping-pong balls for tonsils. Yeah me.
  24. Today, I am thankful for the trials I have been through in life. They have made me who I am—and I wouldn’t change any of it. God has a purpose and I’ve been blessed on some occasions to know why, and that makes it even easier to bear the others. I hope we are teaching T1 & T2 that standing strong in adversity makes us that much stronger, because we are never alone.
  25. Happy Thanksgiving All! Cinnamon rolls, eggnog, watching the parade, then it’s over hills and through the woods to Grandmother’s house we go. Today, I am thankful for tradition. With DH gone a lot, sometimes it’s hard to make traditions or to stick to them, but we are making do. Here’s hoping he’ll at some point today.
  26. I am thankful for the 40 minute phone call with DH last night. It was so good and comforting to hear his voice. One month down and two more to go!
  27. Today I am thankful for Christmas music. The house feels strangely quiet if it is not playing in the background.
  28. I am thankful my heart condition is under control. 😦 And I’m glad the decongestants haven’t triggered it. My cold has taken a turn for the worse today and I won’t even be able to enjoy singing. (That may be a good thing for those who stand near me. LOL)
  29. Today I am thankful for the friends and loved ones who have faith in me and lift me up. I like to be strong and tough but it is not always possible.
  30. Today, this last day of November, I can’t find the words to say what I’m thankful for. Those of you in the “know”, I hope you do know how thankful I am for you.
2 comments

  1. […] Last year as I started this blog adventure in November I just compiled all those statuses into one post. I may not post my statuses her every day but instead compile them into weekly bits. We’ll […]


  2. […] a fellow blogger. I spent the month posting on FaceBook my 30 days of thanks and posted them on Dec. 1st. I honestly don’t know which FB friend started that but for 4 years now I have continued the […]



What Are You Musing About?

