h1

Allergies & Asthma

November 29, 2010

I had enough. T2’s barking cough–again–was the last straw. At 8 year’s old, you’d think T2 would have outgrown Croup. As an infant and toddler, the liquid albuterol worked. We could expect to deal with Croup every fall. Then it started happening in the spring when T2 reach 4, a time when Croup is usually outgrown. By 5, T2 was taking Claritan March-May and August-October. By 6, we had switched to half a Zyrtec and added Nasonex. By 7, T2 was supposed to take the Zyrtec and the Nasonex year-round. And still the flair-ups and the bark.

I am congested all the time and have been told it’s allergic rhinitis or sinus infections. Spring, summer, fall, or winter. It happens any time. I take Zyrtec and Flonase (though I’m really not following doctor’s orders on the Flonase).

Three weeks ago we had a terrible storm roll through and within 12 hours, T2 was barking. Knowing that a friend was allergic to whatever blooms with a storm I considered that, Ah-Ha!, this could be the trigger. We’ve got to find out–I’m already on my third bottle of mucinex cough!

I wasn’t about to let T2 go through it alone. I have a family history–and I really don’t feel like being like my father and having my sinuses carved out in my early 40s. We had our appointment together today.

As far as common and airborne allergies goes, T2 is only allergic to cockroaches. UGH! But with a pulse-ox of 96% and difficulty on the breathing test which improved 16% after 1.5 puffs of albuterol, they considered it asthma or airway restriction disorder. I asked the doctor “So the seasonal flair-ups are just coincidence?” His reply was that because children on average get 7-8 colds per year, the flair-ups start as virile colds. If we control the symptoms (the bark) T2 will have better management when colds strike. This is not activity induced asthma as T2 plays soccer and takes Soo Bahk Do just fine. We will continue the Zyrtec, the Nasonex, and add Advair twice a day. Finally.

Me? Well, I’m allergic to dust mites. Hmm, that’s going to be a problem because I’m allergic to dusting! JK! But the dust and the hairballs do build up big time. Time to scrub everything and get all new bedding and allergen blockers. Yeah. Funny thing is DH had childhood allergies for smoke, cockroaches, and dust mites–but I wouldn’t get the allergen covers for him! Nope! But I will for me! LOL No, we have had them on our pillows. I’m just going to have to get the mattress covered and change all the bedding. Oh, and I got a new nasal spray too.

We’ll reevaluate both of us in three months. I will get food allergies tested at that time and we will determine which I reacted to when I got my tetanus/pertussis shot last December. I just didn’t want to do it all with T2 there.

I was able to call DH and give him the news. He should be home for the reevaluation. That will be a big help. So mothers out there, listen to your instincts. I’d been saying asthma all along.

What Are You Musing About?

