h1

International Day of the Seafarer–June 25th

June 25, 2014

June 25th is the UN and IMO (International Maritime Organization) recognized International Day of the Seafarer.

I had no idea. Cool.

“Seafarers are the people without whom food, clothes, gifts, gadgets or even basic needs would not reach our doors. We rely on them every day. Yet have you ever said thank you to a seafarer? Chances are you haven’t.”

The 2014 campaign to bring awareness and gratitude for our seafarers is all about “Seafarers brought me….” If it is not made in America, it was made somewhere else and was transported most likely by ship.

SO many things. My gas. Phone. Kindle. My shoes… pretty sure my Adidas are made overseas. Man, I could go on and on.

But the industry has brought me some other things too–my hard-working Chief is gainfully employed which allows me to stay at home for another 2 years with my children. His employment pays for scouts, sports, music lessons and instruments (yup, we need a new mouth piece and an upgrade beyond a “student” viola here soon), camp, charitable donations to those in need, way too many clothes and those Adidas running shoes (Have I mentioned I hate running? LOL), my E.o.t.T. training, and now braces for both girls.

What about entertainment? How many out there have taken a cruise … whether on the Love Boat or just a quick jaunt down the local river? I’m thinking about this as we’re planning a spectacular cruise soon. Yes, the Chief is not thrilled that he is actually paying to go on a ship while on his vacation. My trainer keeps laughing every time┬átime he thinks about the Chief doing this for me.

I hope people also think about the security having a civilian fleet can provide in times of war as well.

Thank you to all the seafarers out there, foreign and domestic.

 

Related Article: Celebrate Day of the Seafarer by Enchanted Seashells

5 comments

  1. LOL I cannot imagine my hub wanting to go on a cruise with someone else driving the boat. You have a very nice hub to do that for you!


    • He has a classmate running the engine room so he is hoping we can take the girls on a tour. I do feel a little bad that he’ll have to go back to sea about a week after we get back. No rest. In all honesty though he is doing this for his parents–it’s their 50th but I’ll post about that later!



What Are You Musing About?

